Just me and the crickets…

It’s 8:31 and the kids are snuggled down for the night..what a long day it has been.  Today was the last official day of having the kids home with me.  Tomorrow my youngest starts Kindergarten..what a bitter sweet feeling it is.  We had a ‘girl day’ today and just the two of us went shopping and out for lunch.  She looked up at me as we were leaving the mall and said “this has been my best day with you Mommy”.  Needless to say my heart melted.  She is the sweetest thing.  For 8 years now I have always had someone with me during the day..tomorrow that all ends.  I fear the quite..  Now don’t get me wrong here..i am all about some Mommy time, me time..my time.  But I don’t know what to expect when there is no one around wanting something..no one to ask if they can have a cookie at 8am or get me some chocolate milk.  The quite, the stillness of the house..well it freaks me out just a bit.  I don’t do well with silence, stagnant time, or being alone.  I have always been a social little butterfly fluttering around with people around me all the time.  For the first time in my life it is going to be just me…all day, well until 3pm.  I know, this sounds a little dramatic but it’s going to be so different..a change of pace.  I am sooo going to need a hobby or a part time job here very soon.  I think it will be cool for about a month or so seeing that my ‘to do’ list is about 279 miles long.  So first things first..do the things to the house that I have wanted to do for let’s say…8 years.  Purge, organize, make multiple trips to the dump and goodwill, tear off wallpaper, and paint.  Ok so maybe I will be busy for a couple of months 🙂 .  That makes me feel better.  That’s what I will do starting tomorrow…crank up the tunes and start throwing crap away!  I WILL make my bedroom the oasis it is supposed to be!  (as soon as I get the damn piano out of it, yes I have a freaking piano in my bedroom!)  Why you ask, hell i don’t know..ask the husband.  I hate it though!

Anyway.. back to just me and the crickets.  As I was just sitting outside listening to the crickets chirp I realized how peaceful my life has become.  My kids are both getting so big and in school, they are more independent, they don’t “need” me like they used to.  This makes me sad and happy at the same time.  The fact that my daughter can buckle her own seatbelt makes me 🙂 my son can pour his self a glass of milk again 🙂 they can play together for more than 5 minutes without having to break up a fight 🙂 the fact they are getting older 😦  the fact that they both will be in school 😦 .  All of this so bitter sweet.  My life really has become more peaceful.  It is complete.  I have 2 beautiful healthy children, a loving husband who is my best friend, a sister that I can’t live without, the best group of friends a girl could possible ask for and to top it off..My dad and stepmom are moving down here from Indiana in 2 weeks.  My life is officially complete.  Now if I can just win the lottery my life would be off the charts 😛

Just as I say this I know a whole new chapter of my life is opening up and it once again will become hectic and crazy.  And continues my story..my life.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on August 18, 2010, in all things wonderful, Beautiful, Events, family, kids, life, Me, miscellaneous, My Thoughts, Other, Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

