Buddhism? It might just be what I have been looking for

Buddahs

Image by digitaltree515 via Flickr

The other day my sister and I were sitting out back and talking (I wish I could remember what we were talking about) and the she said to me “I think I am going to look into Buddhism“.  Her and I were not brought up in the church, we were let free to make our own decisions about religion.  Neither of our parents were brought up in the church nor did we ever talk about it.  This was good and bad.  The good, like I said before, we were aloud to make our own choices about religion and had our own thinking.  The bad, when ever religion came up in conversation or we were asked what we ‘were’ (speaking for myself) I never knew how to answer.  Over the years I have made up my mind in what I “believe”.  I do believe in something, I think we all need to.  I have always said that I know I believe in Karma.  If you are a good person your life will be good and vice versa.  The whole cause and effect.  I have tried to believe in ‘God’ but it just wasn’t working for me, meaning I was not buying into the story behind it.  I have always been the one that said “I’ll believe it when I see it”.  Which leads me to the main stream religions..  *Let me just add I have been to church on numerous occasions with friends and family members growing up so I am not saying this through complete idiocy, nor am I knocking any religion*  I also believe to each their own.  But from my personal experience and learning of religion I just couldn’t and still can’t get past “this is how you must live your life or you are going to hell”.  The guidelines, so to speak, that you must follow to live your life to find God, the you can’t eat this, you can’t do that, so on and so forth.  What is wrong with  just being a good person, not over indulging, treating others the way you would want to be treated, being kind, don’t hurt another, etc?  These are the ‘rules’ and/or ‘guidelines’ that I have chose to live my life by.

So thinking about what my sister said I have sat down and looked up Buddhism.  This just might be it for me!  Doing just a little research I am intrigued by it and want to learn more.  I like the ideology behind Buddhism.  It’s about Karma, being a good person, not praying to a “god”, ‘you should not believe without thinking’, the way you choose to live your life will impact your next, it’s belief in healing, afterlife, that life exist in itself.

I have always felt a bit guilty, I guess you could say, because I couldn’t come to make myself believe in ‘God’.  I have tried, trust me.  I just couldn’t there were always these unanswered questions in the back of my head, or thinking “seriously? God made us really?  You want me to believe that god made everything around us thousands of years ago when the earth has been here for millions?  Then who made the dinosaurs?  So again I couldn’t make myself buy into it.  I believe in evolution.  It makes sense to me.

I am excited and hungry for this venture.  I am off to get my sister out of bed and head to the book store to get some reading on Buddhism…we will learn and grow together.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on September 3, 2010, in all things wonderful, Amazing, Events, humans, life, Me, miscellaneous, Other, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Jamie,
    Looking at facebook, I saw a link to your blog. I was interested reading it, and love how honest you are. I’ve always respected that about you. It did make me kind of sad b/c I know what you mean about religion….that unfortunately humans make it about rules when in my faith, it’s so much more than rules. Anyway, thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

