The Friday that Rocked

No we didn’t party like rock stars, go out to a bar, get hammered and stay out to 3am.  But my weekend is off to an amazing start let me just say!

The kids are at my dad’s for the weekend for the first time since they have moved down here.  This is fantastic..My husband and I aren’t on vacation and we don’t have any plans.  The kids are just there and we are just here.  At first I thought we had to do something, had to have plans since we didn’t have any kids here with us.  Not so much I learned!  I dropped them off yesterday around 3:30 and started the weekend with no kids.

Yesterday was great.  My sister had stayed with us Thursday night so I got her up and we took off to have lunch and do a little shopping.  My sister and I are GREAT shoppers I might add 🙂  we enjoy it immensely!  We get this so called talent naturally, our mother and grandmother taught us well.  We rushed around to get done what we had to and then it was back to get the kids off the bus and take them to my dad’s for the weekend.  We dropped them off and headed back to the mall.  I love shopping with my sister, and oh did we shop.  We Power Shopped now that I think about it.  We hit all of our favorite stores and while she looked I looked.  There was no following each other around waiting for the other, it was you go that way and I’ll go this way.  It was “oh you have to cash out well I’m going on to the next store”, meet you there.  “You bought shoes?  Well I want some.”  We rocked the mall.  I love to shop with my sister because of this.  It’s not like going with your friend and you have to wait for them, feel like you have to stay by their side the whole time and have to have full conversations constantly.  It’s just you shop, I shop, meet you back here.  I love that we can go into a store, load our arms up go into the fitting rooms try something on ask for the other’s opinion and get a true response..”that’s not working for you”.  Thanks sista for not letting me buy something that I am going to look like a fool in!  Sisters are the best!

Back in the day my mom and grandma would take off for the entire day shopping, when mom would take us shopping it was an all day event.  It was fun, it was our time together.  I love those memories.  Well my sister and I keep that tradition alive.  Last night on our way home my sister looked at me and said “we just pulled a mom and grandma!”  Yes we did girlfriend, yes we did.  I love those days.  We just shopped..we didn’t have to rush home to relieve my husband of the kids, to make dinner or anything.  We just took our time, shopped and enjoyed each other’s company.  It was wonderful.

After we got home my sister headed out to her house, my husband came in from his alone time in the band room with his music and crown and cokes.  Finally it was just him and I.  We just sat there and talked…no tv on, no music..just silence and the sounds of our voices.  We just talked and went to bed.  Beautiful.

Oh and may I add that I checked my voicemail when we got home and I had a message that I won a drawing at a local store for a free month membership to Snap Fitness and a $25 gift card to Gamestop.  Yay me!  Now I just wish I worked out!

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on September 4, 2010, in all things wonderful, Amazing, Events, family, kids, life, Me, Other, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

