When I see a Red Bird I know it is you watching over me.

The Red Bird

Image by spisharam via Flickr

Here I am watching the Stand Up to Cancer special and my heart aches as my eyes well up with tears of pain and sorrow for myself and everyone that has been touched by this evil demon of a disease. Five and a half years ago I lost my mom to cancer, Melanoma. It still seems like yesterday I was standing bedside and hearing her say Jamie Dawn like only she could. See, I did not have a lot time with her after we found out…only three days. It was too late and her body was overran by the cancer when she was diagnosed. There was no chance for chemotherapy or radiation treatment just time to say I love you and be there and to savor the time. We had plans to bring her home so she could go in peace surrounded by her things and family. She never made it home. It was too late her body was worn out it was time for her to go.

When I look out my window and see a red bird sitting on the fence or in the tree I know it is my Mom watching over me and my family telling me she is still with me and she is ok now, no more pain.

How I miss you mom and I continue to tell myself you are still here with me watching over me and my family.  I hope you are well wherever you are….

I love you.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on September 10, 2010, in all things wonderful, Amazing, Beautiful, Events, family, life, Me, miscellaneous, mothers, My Thoughts, Other and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think they exact same thing when I see one. I don’t think we have ever talked about it, so it must be. Love you sister! Thanks for being amazing.

Leave a Reply

