Small Town Rumors…

We are all guilty in getting caught up in rumors and spreading a few that we have heard.  I have had my share of rumors said about me over they years and I think they are hilarious.  I have always just laughed them off because I know they aren’t true and if people want to believe them without seeking the truth than so be it.  We grew up in a small town in Indiana..4,000 people, a graduating class of only 395.  Everyone knows everyone and rumors fly like a swarm of birds.  My husband and I got out of that small town 12 years ago and my sister shortly followed..thank god.  Best decision we have ever made.  I still love to go visit and see everyone but when it’s time to leave there are no sad feelings.  I am glad I got out when I had the chance.  Rumors were always flying around and the funny thing is they still do.

Saturday night I got a phone call from an old friend that I have not talked to in over 10 years, who herself got out of the small town and now lives in Florida.   During our hour and a half catch up time she asked me “Your sister is a lesbian now, right?”  Oh the laugh I got out of this one!  I was laughing so hard I couldn’t answer for a minute.  Finally I said no she isn’t.  She said “I heard that one all the way down here!”  She even said she heard my sister was dating this one girl’s sister.  She had names!!!  This just keeps getting better and better!  My sister and I have both been “rumored lesbians” and pregnant at one point during our time living there among other wonderful things.  I really can’t understand why, we both always had boyfriends but we always did our own thing.  Never really cared about what other people did or what they thought.  This is probably why..we never formed to the ‘small town image’.  We were home during the fair a couple of years ago (which is nothing but a yearly high school reunion) and after we got home my sister got a phone call from a friend up there and it went like this….Indiana friend “Hey guess what you got!”  My sister “what?” Friend “you got a boob job!”  Sister “Really?!?  that’s great!  Where are they?”  (meaning her boobs)  This is a fine example of how rumors still fly even when you don’t live there anymore.  Just a note *my sister has never had a boob job, been pregnant or has ever been a lesbian.  That town cracks me up and I am glad that we can still be entertainment for the people living there.  Oh how the ‘small town minds’ work.  You are in your little small town bubble and you never leave..it’s the same people, the same daily life over and over again.  It’s the same group of people every weekend doing the exact same thing.  You just don’t know any different.

Everyone that I talk to up there wants to get out, wants to move far away.  I try to tell them just DO IT!  If it is only an hour away go run as fast as you can!  Get the hell out of there!!!  I am happy I don’t live there anymore even though I do miss my friends back home.

I am headed up there in a couple of weeks for our annual fair and reunion so we will see what rumors come out of that trip!

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on September 13, 2010, in Amazing, Events, family, humans, Humor, Indiana, life, Me, miscellaneous, Other, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is hilarious! I’m not from a small town, but while in grad school I worked as a server and bartender and the rumor mill was just the same! Good luck on your trip!

  2. Hahaha. 🙂 Very amusing. Kind of scared to live in a small town now. 😛

Leave a Reply

