Getting Freshly Pressed.

To my surprise on Tuesday my post “it is what it is when you wear what you wear” got freshly pressed.  Wow is all I can say about this whole ‘experience’ I guess you can call it.  The reason I choose to keep a blog is to write down how I am feeling or what I am thinking about, never to see how many people I can get to read my blog or to push anyone’s buttons on my point of view on things.  Tuesday I watched an interview and blogged about it.  I hit publish and continued on with my morning.  About 20 minutes later I start getting emails regarding comments on my blog.  I go in and check them out hit approve and then one catches my eye “congrats on being freshly pressed”..WHAT?  I proceed to the front page and there it was, my post.  My first thoughts..Wow! and then Really?  Yep..really.  The morning goes on and more comments come..  After it is all said and done 12,000+ people had read my post.  12,000!!!! Along with 300+ comments.  Holy Shit are you kidding me!  Truly insane to me that that many people read what I had to say.  I stirred up quite the discussion.  The comments were coming in so fast that I would read them, shake my head or give myself a high five, hit approve, reply to a few and move on.  A bit overwhelming.  People were talking, tweeting, reposting, retweeting, getting mad, approving, praising, twisting my words, taking my words out of context, misconstruing a bit, agreeing and disagreeing.  Some, it seemed, were completely missing my point of view and finding ‘underlying’ points that I made.  Some were even quoting me, I said quoting using quote marks, and they weren’t even my words…this one got to me.  How can you quote me and not even use my quote?  One was so far off course that I just sat there with my jaw on the floor thinking to myself “how in the hell did you get that out of that???”   Some said I was attacking the character, this I never did.  One said that if I am going to ‘report’ on things I need to update my post.  Ok here’s the deal, I am not a “writer” or a “reporter”, just a girl that keeps a blog and by chance it got freshly pressed.  Some said my post was horrifying, disgusting, great, or right on point.  All this over my little post.  Still I think..Really?  Yep..really.  I guess I hit a soft spot for some.  I went back through the comments yesterday and read them again.  I found myself making a mistake, I was concentrating on the negative and not the positive (comments).  I found myself getting mad even lashing out a few.  Wrong way to look at things.  First of all I let myself get mad over other people’s point of view and their opinion, everyone is entitle to theirs just like I am to mine.  At some I felt like I was being attacked or bashed…looking at it now this is not the case just simply a disagreement in opinions or point of views.  This was a great way to examine how different minds work and think about things.  I, myself, like to look at things through what I think is a reality scope (not saying everyone else doesn’t I’m just speaking for myself and my outlook on things) and I take the attitude it is what it is, it’s just how things are.  I was taught, this is reality, this is how life is and sometimes it sucks and most of the time is is grand.  Yes I want certain things not to be how they are and would like to see some things change but right now at this very moment in time it is what it is.  I accept it this and it is hard at times.

So looking back on this whole thing it was quite the experience filled with positives and negatives.  It’s kinda neat thinking that I started this big debate on a touchy subject and got people thinking, talking and discussing.  But for now I have had my fill.

To all that read, commented and got involved, thank you!

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on September 16, 2010, in all things wonderful, Amazing, Events, humans, life, Me, miscellaneous, My Thoughts, Other, rants and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. A Dreamer's Thoughts/ S. Larsen

    I love the fact that you got Freshly Pressed, I don’t think I would have found your blog out in the sea of blogs with out it being put on the wordpress home page. And I really enjoy reading what you write, it’s funny, sarcastic and it has a personal touch.

    Try harder never to pay attention to the negative comments. Some people are always negative, but you shouldn’t care what they think. Please don’t, I have read one blog too many where the author finally had it with the comments and quit writing…

    • Thank you so much! I usually don’t care what people think at all but all of that was just a bit overwhelming. I won’t quit writing..I find it therapeutic and really really enjoy it! Thanks for enjoying my posts!!! Have a great day!

  2. Thank you..really informative!!

  3. Just wanted to say congrats. Thanks for sharing your experience. It was interesting to read. I have read some pretty harsh comments that people have left on others blogs. I guess you have to get a thicker skin sometimes. Don’t let it discourage you.

  4. I was so proud yesterday when I logged on and saw you listed as Freshly Pressed I also then immediately thought, oh god she may not have idea what this post will result in!

    Great post! I saw the clip on the Today Show as well but only opted for a small remark on my blog among my other topics for that day hoping to avoid any controversy. Once again, great job!

    • Thanks so much! Oh it was interesting to say the least. I think I am still in shock and trying to absorb it all and make sense of it! haha! Not how I had envisioned my day going. Have a great day!

  5. Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed. And I loved your blog yesterday. While I don’t condone catcalling, etc. The way she dressed had an awful lot to do with it. If you want respect from others, you must respect yourself first–and that means acting and dressing like a professional.
    I write for another blog that had a hot topic go freshly pressed; it’s amazing the comments you get. Focus on the thoughtful ones. The ones that are pure vitriol, ignore. Everybody (except maybe the writer) can recognize those for what they are.
    By the way–great blog site.

  6. I enjoy your site. I too agreed with your statements. I had expresed similiar views to anyone who would listen. You deserved the Freshly Pressed attention. Good for you. I am a beginning blogger and learn from you and others by appreciating your work. I ignore people who think bloggers are silly. People who love to write should write in whatever medium they wish. Just wanted you to know. Thanks.

  7. I’m not surprised you got Freshly Pressed, that article was great! You were completely right about there being a time and a place for certain types of clothes and to be honest… she brought it on herself really for wearing those outrageously tight jeans (but I’m kind of jealous that I don’t have her figure, so it works both ways!)

Leave a Reply

