Read to Succeed day at the kid’s school!

This morning I had the pleasure to participate in “Read to Succeed” at my kid’s school where volunteers, parents and teachers read a book(s) to the class.  First it was to Emmy’s Kindergarten class.  It is so darn cute to see her in her class doing her thing.  Mrs. Powell gathered all the kids on the reading rug and I got the big rocking chair.  I read “Sally and the Purple Socks” to the kids and they loved it.  They all sat so quietly and were very very attentive.  It was so much fun!  Then we had a group photo and it was time for me to move on to my son’s class.  So I wished the Kindergarteners a good day and headed down the hall.  Next up..2nd grade.  Oh how different it was from the little ones.  I walk in and all eyes on me and the first thing I hear is “I love your boots” from a little girl sitting next to Will (my son).  Cracking up I am!  This was a whole different experience..gotta love 8 year olds!  Will got to introduce me to his class and we got our picture taken together, I just hope he smiled, the kid hates to have his picture taken.  Mrs. Evans gathered the kids up on the reading carpet and yep! I got another rocking chair.  I read “A Pig in the Rud” to Will’s class.  They liked it and thought it was funny.  But oh the peanut gallery was alive and well on the reading carpet.  Comments from all..  Especially my son’s best friend Jordan, he had something to say for every page, the little smart butt 🙂 .  The book was about farm animals in the road and the passing car trying to figure out how to move them.  One little girl’s answer to everything was “just kill it”..WHAT!  That is not nice little one!  After I was done with that book Mrs. Evans asked me to read another one.  We picked “Tumble Bumble” it was very cute and funny and it had the kids laughing and yes the peanut gallery was still there and going strong.  Good Ole 8 year olds..little know it alls and they are all Captains of the obvious ship.   Gotta love’em!

So all in all it was a great experience and tons of fun.  I can’t wait until I have the opportunity to do it again.  Hopefully I will be able to help in both classes here in the near future when they start needing volunteers.

Emily has her first field trip coming up the first of October to one of the local pumpkin patches and I get to chaperone.  I love going on field trips with the kids it is sooo much fun!  I got to go with Will when he was in K to the pumpkin patch and we had a ball!  So I am very excited to be able to go with Emily.  Yay for being a mom!!!!

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on September 17, 2010, in all things wonderful, Beautiful, Events, family, Humor, kids, life, Me, mothers, school and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

