Monday Morning Jibber Jabber

Well it’s the dreaded Monday again and it’s in the 50’s and its just down right chilly on the patio this morning.  It’s screwing up my morning coffee time that I spend with the dog and my computer on the patio routine.  I wonder if I can get Mr. Man to enclose the patio so my routine doesn’t get all jammed up?  I’m going with no.  A girl can wish.  This weekend was full of nothing with a side of boring.  I kind of like those weekends, it’s nice every now and again.  It was my calm before the next weekends storm of fun and debauchery.  I have a bit of a busy week ahead of me, it’s my son’s 8th birthday on Wednesday!  First and foremost I am still in shock that I have children let alone the fact that one of them is going to be 8!  Why am I still, after 8 years in shock..well because I never wanted kids or at least I didn’t think I did.  My husband (boyfriend at the time) and I had talked about having kids down the road at some point but that was down the road, then Surprise!  You are pregnant!  I do believe things happen for a reason and Will was the biggest gift..love that boy!  Then of course you can’t just have one kid you have to have at least 2.  So we had Emily and then I was done. Period.  I have my boy and girl so all I need now is an apron, white picket fence and a golden retriever..haha!  That’s so not me.  I am not the ‘typical mom’ I don’t think..no mom jeans here..no only kid songs in the car, we rock out.  My son’s favorite song is “Gives You Hell” by the American Rejects and he sings it at the top of his lungs and gets a goofy grin when he sings the chorus because he knows he gets to say bad words.  We had the talk about bad words which really aren’t bad in my eyes they are just really good adjectives and they give great emphasis when needed.  He knows he is not aloud to say them but if they are in a song he can.  I cuss like a sailor which is sooo feminine of me, I know.  I can’t help it, well I can but don’t wanna.  I do watch my mouth around other people’s kids and try to limit them around mine but damn it, shit, fuck, I like them.  I know, I know I get the super mom award.  I refuse to grow up and act my age all the time just because I am a mom.  No..I will not.  Again, don’t wanna.  Life’s too short for that nonsense.  You must have fun!  You must enjoy yourself, act silly, have a good time, laugh, love, and be a bit inappropriate at times.  My house is clean but it is not sparkly 24/7, I refuse to spend all of my time cleaning, yes there are toys that make their way out of their home and into the living area but you know what one day all of those toys that we get so sick of looking at, stepping on, picking up are going to be gone…So you know what..bring them out, play with them and enjoy them.

You know what makes me giddy like a little kid?  When I turn my ipod on shuffle and it’s like it can read my mood..it just keeps on playing the right songs.  I swear it’s got magical powers and it makes me oh so happy.  Let’s see if it can read my mood this morning here are the first 5 songs it plays right now:

Three Days Grace “Pain”

Jack Johnson “Constellations”

Alabama “Song of the South”

Beck “Scarecrow”

311 “Beyond the Gray Sky”

Well if I go by that I am confused this morning, which really is true seeing how my post is going from one thing to another.  See what I mean..spooky.

As you can see my ipod is full of everything.  I don’t have my one set genre that I listen to.  I am a rocker at heart, my first cassette tape was Twisted Sister, my second Guns N’ Roses but that was soon taken away from me.  I guess my dad didn’t like to hear the word fuck in a song about heroin on Christmas morning…oops.  I am a sucker for a good beat and will break it down anywhere.  Love love love to shake my groove thang.  Over the years my taste has calmed down just a tad.  I used to be balls to the wall with my music but now I love a good acoustic song, singer song writer, and just the good ole chill music.  I will still and always rock out..Metallica, System of A Down, Three Days Grace, Papa Roach, 3 Doors Down, Incubus, 311,The Dirty Heads (which is my new love at the moment)..god I could go on and on but I think you get the picture.  I can’t handle the down right Rap anymore, call me old if you will but I can’t handle the lyrics and the videos, if I see a bad video I instantly hate the song.  Love me some Hip Hop though usually for the beat alone.  Old school rap..now we are talking..Rob Base “it takes two”, Freestyle “don’t stop the rock” again I could go on and on.  Wow, I think I just showed my age a bit.  I grew up with country playing in the house so I love me some good ole cowboy hat wearing music too, plus living in Nashville you must.  Well not really but it helps when you are out on the town.  It’s very cool when your kids start showing musical likes.  My son is like me he likes everything.  He asked if I would make him a cd and this is what he chose: Ozzy, Pat Benetar, Heart, Sean Kingston, Lil’ Wayne, All American Rejects  just to name a few.  I LOVE it!  Hearing him rock out to some Heart and Ozzy melts my heart.  My daughter is main stream at the moment..Miley Cyrus, Miranda Cosgrove, Selina Gomez, loves her some Lady GaGa..she rocks it though and sings her heart out.  One happy mommy right here.

Well my coffee is gone which is sad and I am considering making another cup just for the fact that I don’t want to do anything yet and it will give me an excuse but I don’t want to feel like a crack head.  So on with my Monday duties..yuck, blah, fuck.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on September 27, 2010, in all things wonderful, Amazing, Events, kids, life, Me, miscellaneous, Other and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Cute new design 🙂

    Ever given Rise Against a listen? It’s one of my favorite bands of all times, – just enough noise (punk that is), but also great lyrics! Thought you might like them.

  2. It was 111 in California today. My iPod would have been kind to slap me across the face and knock me out cold. But it didn’t, and I suffered.

  3. My boyfriend’s 8-year-old loves “Gives You Hell” too.

  4. Every parents must be proud when they find out that their child has an aptitude to rock. I certainly would be.

Leave a Reply

