I surrender and it’s only 6:10am

It’s Monday and I was up at 6:00am and by 6:10 I was ready to go back to bed and start the day all over again  Yep it’s one of those days.  I start my coffee and head back the hallway to get the kids up and ready for school.  They have been on Fall Break this past week so Momma is or now should say was ready for them to be back in school.  I walk in my sons room and see a pile of something in the middle of the floor, I bend down to further investigate and focus my tired eyes, it is a chewed up chord to the playstation controller in a million pieces!  Great start to the day, I look over at the dog who is instantly on my shit list and he knows he did wrong and pees on my toes!  Seriously! Did that just happen, I haven’t been up for 10 minutes and I have literally been pissed on!  Ok thats 2 things and I haven’t even made it to my son’s bed yet.  It’s now 6:10 and want to kill my dog and go back to bed.  I get my son up while trying not to beat my dog into a bolivian, go across the hall to get my daughter up.  The rest of the morning routine is going smoothly despite the regular arguing that takes place when it’s time to brush the teeth, I have the news on and start getting my daughter dressed and I think I hear “Smyrna Elementary closed due to water main break”.  Did I just hear that because my brain is still on auto pilot?  Did they just say my kid’s school is closed today?  NOOOOO!  I go into somewhat of a panic mode because I am not sure I heard that correctly for one, and two I don’t know whether to finish getting the kids ready because the bus will be here in 10 minutes.  I immediately check my phone and email for the mass message that usually goes out to all the parents when school has been closed..nothing.  I text a fellow school mom to see if she has heard, her answer no.  Was I just imagining that I heard that because that would be the icing on the cake for the morning??  Finally I see on the clicker at the bottom of the screen “Breaking News:  Smyrna Elementary School closed due to major water main break”.  Ok deep breath, try except the fact that this day is not going my way, I am not going to get done what I had planned to do today.  Flipp’n peachy!  I call the mom back to let her know about the closing and that her son can come down here for the day.  Finally the phones start ringing, texts start coming in, it’s official the school is closed.  Just shoot me in the foot!  The kids are beside themselves with joy that their fall break just got longer, I am beside myself with “Are you kidding me?” because all I wanted was for them to go to school so I could scrub this house, get caught up on all the things I didn’t get done last week while they were here and I needed to go somewhere with my dad and stepmom this morning.  I had a full day ahead of me.  I called my dad to see if we can post pone our plans until tomorrow because I am not taking 3 kids to the pool store where I need to pay attention to what the pool people are telling me and not play referee, plus we were supposed to do some shopping with my stepmom.   There is no way in hell I am taking two 8 year old boys and a 5 year old girl to the pool store and shopping…no way jose, not unless I can walk around with a constant stream of alcohol dripping into my veins.  By this time it is 6:40am and I am done for the day.  Hopefully at the least I can get my house cleaned and some laundry done.  I might have to lock the kids outside or in a room because if I do get my cleaning done they are not aloud to touch a thing when I am done or else.

ps.  I think I am going to trade my dog in for a cat..stupid freaking dog!

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on October 11, 2010, in Events, family, life, Me, miscellaneous, Random, rants, school and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It is not to early or late to take your dog for puppy training classes. If you want to look into them I will go with you or even take him. Your stress level will reduce tremendously when you have a well behaved dog. Skip the next pair of boots you want to buy and just do it, the classes will pay for themselves in video game controllers. Think about it. Just a suggestion. Less pee on your feet too. And as far as your house goes be happy you don’t currently live here. Manny and I watched an episode of Horders last night, and this place looks like Horders meets the Adams Family. I think I’m more scared of the mess than any Halloween creature that has been staring at me for a week. I don’t want to rush Hallo-Christmas, but 30 days of mess is like 30 days of my life is teetering on the brink of hell. Good luck with today. I’m going to shoot up some coffee and try to make up for my day off last week that I so intelligently surrendered to a self-induced hella-hangover. I will call you later! Love ya SISTER!

  2. Cats can be just as bad, they are more intelligent and plot your demise behind those whiskers. They remember things and get revenge long after the incident occurs 🙂 Hope the rest of the day went at least halfway decent!

Leave a Reply

