Finding the simplicity in Life again.

Do you hear that?  It’s silence with nothing but the rain falling around me this morning on the patio.  It’s absolutely lovely.  I have been looking forward to this morning for a week now.  I didn’t realize how much I do look forward to the morning quiet to gather my thoughts, to just be for a bit before officially starting the day.  Just me and my coffee and the occasional hello from Devo (my dog).

I have lost the simplicity of life.  A realization I have made is I have let myself become consumed with the not so important parts of life lately.  The daily hubub of bullshit, facebook and this dumb computer, just to name a few.  I have let my head crawl up my butt and it’s time to fish it out.  It’s time to stop, breath, and re-access the important things again.  The kids, my husband, family.  Stop and walkaway from the consuming drama of life, the bull that is so easy to be caught up in.  It’s time to turn off the computer, the tv and get back to square one..family.  Saturday night we had family game night and it was a blast.  We have it occasionally but not enough.  My son asked me if we can do that every Saturday because he had so much fun. Absolutely!  When life gets busy it is easy to lose sight of the important things, the simple facts of life.  Lately I have let myself take for granted this life that I have.  I have let myself become selfish to a degree that I am not happy with.  That is not me.  I feel I haven’t been the mom that I could be lately, this is a very hard realization to come to.  I haven’t taken the time to spend that quality time with the kids like I should.  Yes we are all here but what are we really doing?  Nothing.  The tv is on, the DS’s are going, friends are here everyday.  It’s time to stop..shut down for a bit, turn off all the technology that takes over our brains and get back to reality, back to family.  I really need to stop babysitting everyday after school, that is time I could have alone with my kids doing something productive, spending that quality time.  I have let my self lose site of the precious time that is right here in front of me.  I have to reclaim it, life is too short.  Here I am the one that preaches living everyday to the fullest and I am the one not doing it.  My focus is back on track and it is my family..the important things in life, the ones that will be here forever.  I am on a mission to find again the simplicity of life.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on October 12, 2010, in all things wonderful, Amazing, Beautiful, Events, family, kids, life, Me, My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

