I am going to need a Coffee IV Drip

I honestly don’t think I can have any more to do today.  I am exhausted just thinking about it.  The last two days I have done nothing but work on the kid’s rooms and I’m not done yet.  This was not on my agenda for the weekend but yet it ended up consuming all of it, which is fine, it needed to be done.  My son had a loft bed, a really cool one that my sister had bought him.  He hasn’t had a year yet and he said he is tired of sleeping at the ceiling and not being able to have daddy lay down with him at night.  Fair enough, so my husband and I set out to take this bed down.  Let me just start by saying it is an IKEA bed, therefore it came in a million pieces and was not a fun project to put together.  We went at it like we were just going to pop this bed apart and leave it in big pieces for a quick and easy reassemble to where ever it goes.  Um…NO.  This bed was a royal pain in our asses.  It didn’t just come apart easily in the nice big pieces like we had imagined, oh no we had to take every stinking piece apart.  The only whole piece left was the flat part the mattress sat on.  After that wonderful task was done it was time to dive into the rest of the room including the closets.  I started a huge mission.  I went through every toy, every piece of clothing, every drawer in his room.  Let’s just say Goodwill is going to LOVE me!  I can’t walk through my living room because of all the stuff that came out of his room.  But now when I walk in his room it’s peaceful knowing it is rid of all the crap that he doesn’t play with anymore, it is all organized and nice.  I was a little worried going into this full day venture because we were losing a lot of floor space having his bed back down on the floor, but it all worked out.  There was still plenty of room for his little couch and drum kit with plenty of floor space left for activities and video game playing.  Awwwee….  My husband hooked up his TV and ran cable to his room.  I got it all hooked up with the cable box and called my son in and showed him he now has Cartoon Network in his room, I don’t think I have ever seen this kid smile so big.  He kicked off his pants, grabbed the remote and got in his bed…he was in heaven.  He looked at me I don’t know how many times yesterday and said “Mom, I love my room now!”  This makes Mommy smile and makes all the work well worth it!

Then it was time for my daughter’s room.  Easy as my son’s room?  Not so much.  She won’t part with anything, where Will on the other hand was ready to pitch everything.  I think she is a little pack rat.  I had to secretly sneak items into the Goodwill bag and trash bag when she wasn’t looking.  Haha!  I tackled the dreaded barbie basket and threw away about 10 of those while she wasn’t looking. *mental note. never buy another barbie for her or a polly pocket or a anything strawberry shortcake and my little pony*  Filled a bag full of stuffed animals..score!  I did get her room rearranged and Will’s old TV in there.  I had to negotiate though..If you want the TV the play vanity has to go..she finally agreed, thank god.  At least one bigger piece came out of there.  Anyway I got it about half done before my body was ready to give out for the day. I did manage to find her bed in the chaos which is currently her room and make a pathway to it for her to go to bed last night, I thought she might have to bunk with her brother last night.  By the end of the day my back was killing me and my knee was the size of a softball, love that.  So needless to say finishing her room is on my to do list for today.

Along with that here is my to do list for today:

  • finish Em’s room
  • clean the kitchen (it looks like the dishwasher threw up in there)
  • clean the house
  • grocery store run
  • bank run
  • goodwill run
  • laundry
  • oh yeah and I need to shower

I need an IV drip for coffee or just straight up caffeine.

I guess I need to get busy.

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on October 18, 2010, in Events, family, life, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Bless you for being a good mom. Albeit a semi wounded one. Oh, how your weekend brought back many memories of years past. I get the coffee fix. You might try tossing a few Vitamin B12’s each day. Keeps you a bit happy and gives a boost to your energy level. Taking 1 or 2 throughout the day is the best way. You have kids, you gotta have B12 and coffee. 🙂 And best of all. Your kids think their mom is the best! Cool!
    http://cafetodaymyblog.wordpress.com/

    • Thank you for the advice! I will have to get me some of those “happy pills”! 😉 Anything to keep mommy happy is awesome especially when I don’t have to resort to wine! haha!

  2. I can never finish a project. An IV drip is a very good idea! lol

  3. Never question a mother’s capability…being a student, i
    could really use the coffee IV-ly..:P i must say you really have a
    packed schedule in there. being a mother is already challenging let
    alone a modern mom..the thought of it itself gives me the shivers..
    a big hug to all mothers including u too!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

