Marijuana: What side of the fence are you on?

one high-quality "dank" nugget of ma...

Image via Wikipedia

Last night my husband and I watched “Marijuana: A Chronic History” on the History Channel.  Very very interesting.  During the 2 hour show there was the big debate of should marijuana be legalized.  My personal opinion, Yes.  Yes it should.

The debate of course had strong views from both sides.  The for legalization side claimed that it is not a harmful drug, non-addictive, that the US could make 32 billion dollars a year taxing marijuana and that the crime rate would most likely go down.  The other side of course was that it is a very harmful drug and a gateway, if it was legalized to sum it up the world would just go to crap.  10% of Americans smoke pot that is about 22 million people in the US and 109 million people worldwide.  There were a lot of interesting statistics thrown around.  Portugal was one of the first countries to decriminalize marijuana.  Their crime rate has since went down, usage throughout the population has dropped or has stayed around the same.  This goes for all the countries that have decriminalized it.    There was a study done in the US in 1978 and again in 2009 on high schoolers who use marijuana.  In 1978 50% used in 2009 48% used.  Interesting.  It’s obviously not going anywhere.

Here’s one that I completely don’t understand.  Marijuana is classified as a Schedule 1 drug where cocaine, methamphetamines, and morphine are classified as Schedule 2, which means still harmful but not as bad.  WOW!  You can find the drug schedule by clicking here:  http://www.justice.gov/dea/pubs/scheduling.html.  Marijuana is in the same category of LSD and Ecstasy.  During the show there was not one mention of a user being hospitalized or that had died from an overdose from using pot.  Now the show that came on right after was about cocaine and the first 10 minutes was nothing but how dangerous it is, how addictive and how easy it is to overdose.  Another argument on the pro legalization side was that if it was legalized there won’t be this gateway to the harder drugs.  If you make it available in a sensible manner you won’t have to interact with the dealers and won’t be tempted into trying the harder, more dangerous drugs.  You want pot and pot only..here you go.  I completely agree.

I have done my fair share of drugs throughout my years.  Pot, LSD, Ecstasy, Cocaine, Mushrooms and Opium.  I can tell you from personal experience that Pot was the least of my worries.  Cocaine was one of my favorites during a short period of my life and I can you right now I have never wanted or felt like I needed pot like I did cocaine.  Never once did I ever feel “out of my mind” while I was high.  To even think that pot is in the same category as the others is just mind boggling.

We have a man to thank for the prohibition of marijuana, Mr. Harry Anslinger and his bizarre and racial views regarding marijuana.  Here are some of his ‘famous’ quotes:

“There are 100,000 total marijuana smokers in the US, and most are Negroes, Hispanics, Filipinos, and entertainers. Their Satanic music, jazz, and swing, result from marijuana use. This marijuana causes white women to seek sexual relations with Negroes, entertainers, and any others.”

“…the primary reason to outlaw marijuana is its effect on the degenerate races.”

“Marijuana is an addictive drug which produces in its users insanity, criminality, and death.”

“Reefer makes darkies think they’re as good as white men.”

Marihuana leads to pacifism and communist brainwashing”

“You smoke a joint and you’re likely to kill your brother.”

“Marijuana is the most violence-causing drug in the history of mankind.”

And he loved to pull out his own version of the “assassin” definition:

“In the year 1090, there was founded in Persia the religious and military order of the Assassins, whose history is one of cruelty, barbarity, and murder, and for good reason: the members were confirmed users of hashish, or marihuana, and it is from the Arabs’ ‘hashashin’ that we have the English word ‘assassin.’”

Quotes from: http://www.drugwarrant.com/articles/why-is-marijuana-illegal/

Complete malarky!  I think we need to revisit and rethink this view and change the laws.

In 1971 Nixon started the ‘War on Drugs‘ and since then over 600 Billion dollars have been spent.  I am not saying that all drugs should be made legal..no, not at all.  I think when we sit down and look at all the drugs out there, pot is the least of our worries.  I think pot should be taken out of the war on drugs.  One person is arrested every 37 seconds for marijuana.  The amount of money and time spent on worrying about pot is insane.  Why not put that money, man hours, and time towards the drugs that are actually killing people..Heroin, Cocaine, Crystal Meth etc.  Think about how crowded our jails and prisons are from just marijuana arrests.

Your opinion????

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on November 4, 2010, in Events, humans, life, Me, miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. OMG…those quotes are insane!

  2. I am still on the fence on this. I see both sides of these yet a part of me still (stupidly I might add) thinks that if it were legal those individuals who did stay away out of fear of doing something “bad and illegal” will now wade into the waters and maybe get hooked on it as a recreational hobby, thus spending money they should not on something they don’t really need. I am strictly looking at this from the stance of how too many people do things because they CAN not because they SHOULD and throw good judgement out the window in the name of experimentation and the desire to let that inner, repressed bad-ass out 🙂

    • Ahhh..Jen you make some good points. But think about this too, how many won’t want to try it due to it being ok if it is legal. I know I wanted to drink a hell of a lot more before I turned 21 than right after because part of me felt like ‘i was getting away with something’, my little rebel side. I love how there is that financial part that always come out 😉 why is that? haha! Love it!

  3. I def think it should be legalized. For all those reasons stated.
    That guy, Harry Anslinger, what a nut?
    Ok that first quote was that said in the 50’s?!? Ha ha Satanic music, jazz and swing. I didn’t realize when I was listening to Swing that I was getting down and dirty with the devil!

    • Anslinger outed it in the 30’s and I am pretty sure that is the time period of the quotes. Watch out for the swing and jazz! It will make you do some devilish stuff!

  4. born in 59 raised in the 70s pot was really big cant say i ever remember someone overdosing on pot. now here we are in a mess now with a really cheap drug herion over doses every minute just destroying everything around urself and family.and they want to worry about smoking ablunt, joint whatever..come one make it legal. maybe alot of people will change there drug of choice to stayout of trouble and the jails can deal with there freaking problems without the pot smokers filling them up. and the taxes they make on the drug will help alot of states with there money problems, they all have.how much more can u tax booze and cigs.all politicans have a big hold on this, they need to wake up get there freaking hand out of the cookie jar.

Leave a Reply

