A new day..A new venture. Help Name my New Venture!

My husband has been encouraging me to start my own business with my photos and sell my photos online.  A shop on Etsy.com is now in the works.  Now whether or not this is going to work is beyond me but I hope for the best.  I have always had a love for photography since I was a little kid and I took my first good shot of my mom and dad on the beach in Fort Meyers Florida. I have never pursued it but have always taken shots here and there, mainly of friends and family and of course my kids..millions of the kids.  About 2 years ago my husband got me a good camera, Sony a300, for Christmas.  I love that camera even though it is on the cheaper side of the dslr cameras, it still takes good pictures for playing around.  About a year ago I really started paying attention to taking shots, to what I am taking a picture of, playing with different angles etc.  Seeing some of my shots rekindled my love for photography.  Not every shot is note worthy but I have learned that when I do try and have the time to play I might just have an eye for it.  I have received many good compliments on some of my photos and that gives me a little kick to really do this.  I have given myself a deadline of Wednesday, that would be tomorrow!, to come up with a name for my little etsy shop so I can go and apply for a business license and all that jazz.  For the last 2 days I have done nothing but stare at this computer screen researching all the avenues, requirements, sites etc. and now my eyes are crossing and I think my head is going to explode but it is all worth it.  I have list upon list that I need to organize into pretty little lists, because right now it all looks like confusing chicken scratch.   The fact that my husband is so encouraging and behind me on this makes it that much easier and a lot more fun.  He is constantly throwing ideas at me as he passes.  “Hey if this takes off you could do this, and this, and that, and this!”  I love ya babe but one step at a time.   🙂   My head can only hold so much right now.  But if this does do something everything that I make will go towards making it better and taking it a step further.  What gives me hope is seeing other’s photos.  I have a few friends up home that have successful photography businesses, they do portraits, and some of my photos are just as good as theirs.  Even to see what is being sold on Etsy and other sites, my photos are just as good.  Now whether or not those are selling is another question but if they think theirs are good enough mine sure as hell are!

Here are a couple of names that I am playing around with..what is your favorite?  OR if you have an idea for a name let me know!!!

StripedSocks Photography

FnkySocks Photography

Fly Bird Photography

StripedBee Photography

 

I also enjoy taking pictures of people, none of these will be going into the shop but here are a few of my favs that I have taken of my daughter:

 

Peace and Love

 

My little sweetie

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on November 16, 2010, in all things wonderful, Amazing, Beautiful, Events, life, Me, Photography, pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Lovin’ the pics 🙂 You already know my name preference!

  2. wow j i had no idea, so fabulous. what a great talent and you should fo sho, open up shop. of your names I think I like stripedsocks best but if you want a suggestion: Kindled Fire Photography is pretty cool too. seeing how you have rekindled your love of the art. love ya much and all the luck in the world. can wait to see the results.

  3. Wow I am so impressed. You do take good pics. I mean … I loved them. Let me know when you get website up. I am interested.
    As far as the name, I am stumped. Personally I would name it something other my own name or nick name. Maybe like Stilled Moments or Captured.
    Cause thats what you’re doing. You for a brief moment stop time.
    Your art is beautiful.

  4. I can’t decide between the two sock names. I have a thing for fun socks.

    Are you still going to do something with your sister? Or is this in place of that?

  5. This is in place of that. That idea we were working on was just not going to work out..hints the f*ck that friday post. 😉

    after many hours of staring at the list of names and words..I am going to go with StripedSocks. That is the only one my husband and I can agree on, not that he has anything to do with it but he likes it and therefore that makes me like it even more and makes my life easier. And I have found out that I don’t need a business license unless I make over a certain amount of money so I don’t have to permanently settle on one.

Leave a Reply

