A Field Trip to a Local Dairy Farm

Welcome to Hatcher Dairy Farm!

Yesterday was the field trip with my son’s 2nd grade class to Hatcher Dairy Farm, a local dairy farm that has bee in existence since 1831 and still today the Hatcher family maintains it.  It was the best field trip to date I have been on with my kids.  I am convinced that a field trip with kids should be renamed “controlled chaos trip”..wow, I don’t know how teachers do it.  Kudos to them.  The people of the dairy farm were wonderful and great with the kids.  They really took the time to teach the kids about the farm and what they do, not just here are some cows and this is where your milk comes from.  I was highly impressed.  Our trip started off by all the kids gathered around the owners to get the history of the farm.  It has been in the Hatcher family since 1831 and now the 5th generation is running it with the 6th generation in training.

They do everything themselves on the farm from raising the cows, breeding, milking and all the way to processing and bottling their product.  We were off to meet the moo cows.  The kids were absolutely amazed to be this up close and personal with the cows.  It absolutely blows my mind that some kids have never been around farm animals and this is all new to them.  I have realized how fortunate I was as a child to be raised in a small town that was surrounded by nature and had the opportunity to be around horses and farms.

Peek a Boo

Next we were taken down to the barn to meet the babies and Emma,the oldest cow on the farm.  The kids just loved seeing all the animals and the babies.  They showed them how the bottle feed the babies.  They brought out Emma so the kids could pet her and learn more about milking a cow.  The kids were completely grossed out when guy showed them the old style of milking.  Emma I have to say is a trooper.  She stood there unphased by all the surrounding kids hooting and hollering and petting her.  An average milking cow lives between 5-8 years and the average life span for the Hatcher cows is 10 years.  Emma being 13 is in outstanding health and is pregnant with her 9th calf.  Yes I said 9th!  Their cows live so long because they live in excellent conditions!

 

Meet Emma..

Isn’t she just adorable!  She looks straight out of a Disney movie!  The guy you see there was our guide and he was awesome.  Thank god the kids were only 8 and some of the stuff he talked about went straight over their heads because we got a sex ed course for cows while we were there and it was hilarious.  Next we were taking into the milking room where the kids were shown the modern way of milking.  The kids couldn’t stand the smell and I found that funny.  Being on this farm brought back many childhood memories for me and I personally loved the smell because of that..not that I enjoy smelling cow poop.  My great grandfather, who is amazingly still alive today because he has got to be pushing 100, had a dairy farm and I spent many weekends there helping him bring in the cows, feed and milk them.  He too had the what was then, modern milking equipment.  It was such a cool experience and I have many great memories there.

The trough you see is where the cows poop while they are being milked and a couple of the kids kept wanting to touch it or lean on it.  GROSS.  So I told them if any of them touch it I am entitled to call them poopy heads the rest of the day.  I am a super chaperone.  😉   But they stopped touching it.  So whatever works.

 

The milking equipment.

Next stop processing and bottling.

We headed back up to the front of the farm for fresh butter and milk tasting.  Did you know that the greener the grass is the more yellow the butter?  I know I am plethora of information today!

 

Fresh Butter! It was so good!

The farm like I said before has been around since 1831 and it was so full of charm and personality.  Everything was old and worn.

 

The Mac Daddy bull of the farm..He was Huge!

We had a blast and I could have spent hours there taking pictures.  I would love to go back another day and take more..I think I might have to make that happen.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on November 19, 2010, in all things wonderful, Beautiful, Events, kids, life, Me, miscellaneous, Other, Photography, pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awesome trip! Field trips with kids are akin to herding cats 🙂 Great pics as well. Where I live they have a open house for farms where for 2 weekends all the farms are open, with activities and educational programs for the community to instill the importance of farms, open space and preservation of resources.

  2. That is awesome that they do that. I think it is very important and it is getting lost in the modern hub bub which is now daily life.

Leave a Reply

