A Family Gathering.

I was reminded yesterday how wonderful it is to have family close to spend these precious holidays with.  As the kids played and the 3 of us girls were in the kitchen and the guys were in the barn cooking the turkey I stopped and took it all in for a moment.  What a wonderful day.  I enjoyed being in the kitchen cooking with my step mom more than anything else yesterday.  We cracked open our wine and cooked away.  We had great conversations, laughed much, made many messes and just enjoyed the time together.  We had Christmas music playing in the background as we cooked and Tennessee Christmas came on the radio.  I stopped and looked at Susie (stepmom) and said “This year you get to have a Tennessee Christmas”.  That brought some tears as she listened to the words of the beautiful song and said “yes I am and I couldn’t be happier”.  Love her!   As we all came together at the table for the first time in many many years for our Thanksgiving dinner we went around the table and said what we are thankful for.  My daughter (who is 5) led the way and instantly brought tears to the whole table.  She said without being coached mind you “I am thankful for Pa-pa and my family”.  I am pretty sure with that comment that she can get anything she wants from her Pa-pa now.  She said it with such sincerity in her voice and the cutest genuine smile on her face you could tell it came straight from her heart.  My son was thankful for the ham and the candy crust, as he calls it, that is on the ham.  Way to be truthful kiddo!  I love that kid.  The rest of us had our turn and when it came to my stepmom and dad they couldn’t hold back their emotion which made the rest of us a little choked up.  They were so thankful for all of us to be together again, as a family on this holiday.  Like I said before it has been over 10 years since we have all spent Thanksgiving together and it was wonderful.  I am so thankful to have them close to us again.  It was a wonderful wonderful day.

Growing up we always went to my grandmother’s house on Thanksgiving and it was my grandma and my 3 aunts in the kitchen cooking away.  The kids never really helped.  Then I went straight to cooking my own Thanksgiving dinner when we moved away so the only person I ever had in the kitchen with me was my sister and on occasion my sister in law when they would come visit.  So yesterday was amazing for me.  To be in the kitchen with my sister and Susie and contribute to the dinner with my own recipes that have became tradition with my small family over the years was truly touching for me.  I felt like such a big girl   😉   haha!  It was very heart warming for me and I look forward to many more holidays in the kitchen with them in the years to come.

After dinner we all sat down stuffed and lazy around the living room and played a game as a family.  It was fantastic.  It has been, again, many years since this has happened.  Just sitting here thinking about it puts such a smile on my face and warms my heart.  We laughed, we played and we were..a family.

I am happy.

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on November 26, 2010, in all things wonderful, Amazing, Beautiful, Events, family, life, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. “I am happy.”—-I love it! Glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  2. aww, what a great post! I’m so glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! Thanks for sharing your lovely day!

  3. Seriously that sounded great. Like I thought I was reading about the Waltons for a minute there.

Leave a Reply

