A Wonderful Weekend.

Friday night my husband and I got an invite to go out with some friends.  When crunch time came and it was time to decide so I could shower and get ready if we were going to go, I looked at my husband for an answer.  He looked at me and said I know you want to go and I don’t but I don’t want you to be bummed if I say no.  My answer, well if you don’t want to go you don’t want to go..and the pouting began.  I am a good pouter, and I can be a bit of a weenie when I do pout.  He called me out for being short with him and not stirring up too much conversation.  I defended myself with “well I’m BORED”.  It’s Friday night, we have no kids and I feel like we should be doing something.  He looked at me and said..”I’m bored too and I don’t get the chance to just be bored, I like being bored every now and again”.  I stopped in my tracks and thought about that.  He was exactly right.  He doesn’t get to be bored very often, he doesn’t get to just stay in his pj’s all day.  He always has something to do whether it be work on something around the house, cave to the begging “will you play a game with me” from the kids, his darn phone ringing with work constantly, there is always something.  I immediately stopped my pouting and enjoyed the boredom with him.  He was happy that he didn’t get dressed, his phone wasn’t ringing, the kids weren’t here needing him, he didn’t have to do something.  I felt bad that I reacted in such a childish selfish way with my pouting so I apologized and enjoyed the rest of the evening with him.  Our highlight of Friday night was a trip to Taco Bell’s drivethu in our pj’s, a marathon of Pinks All Out and we ended the night with a battle on the Xbox Kinect.  It ended up being a great boring night and for him it was just what the doctor ordered and exactly what he needed.  I wouldn’t have wanted anything else.

The rest of the weekend was nice, the kids were home, we put up the Christmas Tree and decorated the house.  The greatest time was putting the ornaments on the tree with the kids.  I am so ridiculously anal with my tree and I used to find myself rearranging ornaments after the kids put them on or telling them where to put them so it was all even and nice.  I am becoming better with that.  Even though it took me forever to get to the ornament hanging due to trying to do the tree different this year, getting into a fight with the ribbon (at one point it looked like the ribbon monster threw up in my living room, there were about 5 different kinds of ribbon everywhere) putting it on and taking it off 4 different times and not having any creativity there for a bit it was finally time.  I have to give it to my kids, they were so patient with me and my tree trials this year.  They waited patiently for their time.  I am still anal with a few ornaments that are very special to me and those have specific places on the tree but beside those it was anything goes for the kids.  My daughter sang christmas carols while she hung her ornaments, which was the cutest thing ever,  and my son (who has a little bit of myself in him) wanted to show me every ornament he hung to make sure it was in the right place.  I would just look at him and tell him it was perfect, if he wanted it there then so did I.  It is a beautiful tree and I am proud of it and so are the kiddos.  It’s perfect.

Don't mind the bottom..the dog has already gotten into it..dumb dog!

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on November 30, 2010, in all things wonderful, Amazing, Beautiful, Events, family, kids, life, Me, miscellaneous, Other and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. WOW!!, its gorgeous as I said before too. Beautiful & Bright 🙂 Wishing you & your family a happy joyous x’mas month 🙂 shall get back to wishing you merry christmas, I promise!!

  2. That’s a beautiful tree!

    Kiefer and I had a similar experience this weekend. He wanted to go out, and I wanted to stay home. So we went out Saturday night, and we stayed in on Sunday. Hurray for compromise!

    • Thanks girlfriend! Sometimes its just nice to stay in! When I went outside to start my car for our taco bell trip it just reconfirmed yet another reason to stay in Friday night..it was COLD!

  3. Sharing a special moment with your daughter, your family. Are we not lucky? The tree is fabulous! The memories are priceless!

  4. Such a nice tree … you inspired me. I need beads!!

    • Thank you! It’s not exactly how I wanted it (goofy ribbon) but hey the kids are happy so that’s all that matters! I love my wooden beads and I can’t find them like that anymore.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention A Wonderful Weekend. « All Things Fnkybee -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

