When they still believe.

A&P, COFFEE, SANTA CLAUS

Image by George Eastman House via Flickr

As a child the majority of us believed in Santa and what fun times they were making our lists, marking the catalogs, writing the letter, sitting on his lap in the mall asking for a million things, making the plate of cookies and milk to sit out and of course the reindeer food, you can’t forget them!  I remember waking my sister up at the crack of dawn saying “Santa came, Get Up!”.  We would both run to the living room, gasp at the gifts and run to wake up mom and dad.  They would get up, Mom would turn on the Christmas Music and the morning would begin.  What wonderful memories.

My kids are now 8 and 5 and I am thrilled to say they both still believe in Santa Claus.  I am coming to terms with the fact that this will most likely be the last year my son (8) will believe and it makes me sad.  I can only hope that when he does figure it out he plays along with for awhile longer for the fun of his sister still believing.  But for now they both still do and it is so much fun.  My husband has them both convinced that he talks to Santa once a month throughout the year.  He will walk in the room and say to the kids “I talked to Santa today and he asked how you two were doing and if you are behaving”.  Each time the kids light up and my daughter gets this cheesy grin on her face.  Its priceless.  My daughter just asked me the other day as she pointed to the fireplace, “How does Santa get down our chimney and not hurt his butt on the pointy things?”  Oh Santa is magic!  He never gets hurt!  There is something special when you hear your kids talk about Santa and see the excitement on their faces.  Just this morning my daughter looked at me and said “It’s almost Christmas!”  Yes I told her just 25 more days.  She lit up like the Christmas tree.  I have a feeling that this will be the best year yet.  I take it all in because one day they will figure it out and the excitement of Santa will soon be lost.  I hope to always keep the excitement and the thought of Santa alive like my mom did for us.  Up until we moved out my mom would get up in the middle of the night and sit out Santa’s gifts for us.  So yes up until I was 18/19 years old Santa always came and we were always surprised by what he would bring.

One day last year I heard a debate coming from my son’s room between him and his buddy.  His best buddy, Jman, doesn’t believe anymore, ever since he called his mom out last year.  I overheard my son say something about Santa and Jman immediately chimed in with “there is no Santa”.  I about fell out of my chair while screaming “Nooooooo!”  I went in to intercept the conversation immediately and before I got in the room I hear my son say “yes there is my dad talks to him all the time”.  Shew!  My son was not having any of the ‘there is no Santa’ business.  Awwweee..and relax.  I thought for sure he would come running in to me asking questions I wasn’t prepared to answer nor did I want to answer.  That was not the case thank goodness.  Safe for just a little while longer.  I pulled Jman in the living room with me and explained to him that both of my kids still believe and he must play along and that while he was in my house I didn’t want to hear ‘there is no Santa’.  I have heard them a couple of times since then talking about Santa and every now and again Jman will say something about there not being one and all I have to do is shoot him a look and he stops, all the while my son is still standing his ground and just downright ignoring Jman’s claims.  I am amazed.  The other day Jman came down to play and when his mom dropped him off my husband was on the roof cleaning the gutters.  Jman looked up and asked what he was doing and Billy replied “I’m cleaning the roof and chimney for Santa”.  Jman had one confused look on his face.  His mom later told me that Jman is now contemplating if there is a Santa.  Poor kid is so confused.   🙂

There is something about believing in Santa that still brings butterflies to my stomach just thinking about it.  Yes I know there is no Santa but the thought is something amazing.  Every year on Christmas Eve we check in on Santa’s whereabouts via NORAD Santa Tracker throughout the day.  If you have not checked this out with your kids I highly suggest it.  It tracks where Santa is and has been all around the world.  They mark where he has been with gifts on a map which you can click on and watch a little 30 second clip about the area.  There are also clips of the ‘trackers’ hard at work and it shows a group of people in a conference room with their laptops and headsets on trying to find the latest Santa whereabouts.  The kids just love it and I will admit I get butterflies.  I don’t know if its from watching the kids get so excited or if its the little kid that is still alive in me and the love of Santa that I have kept in my heart since I was a little girl.  Confession: when the late night news comes on Christmas Eve and they do their little Where’s Santa story and when he is due to be in our area I get goosebumps and my eyes get a little watery.  Playing Santa on Christmas is definitely a high point of being a parent!

I can only hope that once the time comes and my kids figure out that there is not a Santa Claus that they will keep him alive in their hearts for many years to come and always treasure the memory of when he was real.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on December 1, 2010, in all things wonderful, Amazing, Beautiful, Events, family, kids, life, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. My mom used to do the same thing even after my sister and were 20+ years old, still surprising us leaving us wondering where she hide the stuff or better yet when she got back out of bed to put the gifts under the tree!

  2. Right now we are still getting away with putting the present out before we go to bed but soon I will be setting my alarm to get up at 4am to put out Santa’s gifts. Oh tired mama I will be! I will always do it though for my kids..It’s wonderful!

  3. I’ve never heard of that Santa Tracker. I’ll have to show it to Boo and Radley. I think Boo suspects there is no Santa, but he’s like Jman…a bot confused.

  4. I know exactly what you mean. There is nothing wrong with believing in a little magic in the world.

  5. It’s wonderful now listening to Dad tell us of the antics he and Mum would get up to ensuring that the three kids enjoyed a Santa’s Christmas. Even though we all grow up at some stage, there will always be a part of us that still believes in Santa!

Leave a Reply

