Just my kids and I and a new sleep number.

I have been babysitting Jman off and on for 2 years and as of yesterday I am no longer babysitting after school.  Yay!  I am not excited because I was miserable babysitting, I love that kid like he is one of my own but it’s so nice to just have my two at home with me after school now.  My quality time with the kids is back.  We can take off and do things after school and we can just be together.  Yesterday after they got home we sat down and did some christmas crafts, nothing spectacular, we made a count down ring for the tree and they made a couple of ornaments for the tree.  And somehow I got roped in to making an owl for my daughter’s teacher out of construction paper.  That was a sight!  I didn’t really think she would take it to school to give to her, I honestly thought she would forget about it.  Oh no she packed it in her backpack this morning.  Mrs. Powell is going to think a child made it!  haha!  But what made yesterday so special was my daughter looked at me this morning and said “yesterday was a blast!”  I asked her what made yesterday so special and she says “because we made ornaments and the owl”.  Ahhh, that child knows how to get to me.  She too enjoyed our time.  A usual day after school is the 3 of them walking through the door, throwing their backpacks down where ever they please, the boys running to the pantry to eat me out of house and home and then the bickering begins.  If I had a dollar for every time I heard “MOM, will you get Emily out of my room”, or “MOM can you tell Emily to leave us alone”  I would be a millionair billionaire.  And it’s just not my son yelling those things it was Jman too (minus the mom part).  That makes it tough, poor Em just wants to play Pokemon too.  Oh and the 8 year olds attitude, sarcasm and what they think is ‘cool’, the “dudes”…goodness!  I am happy to have just one 8-year-old attitude to listen to now.  I have to say that my two, as much as they bicker and pick at each other, when it’s just the two of them 95% of the time they get along and play well together.  It’s so nice and makes me a happy mom.

For the past couple of months my husband has been complaining of not being able to sleep and blaming it on the mattress.  I thought he was full of it for the most part and told him he needs to go tot he doctor and get a sleep aid.  The man will not go to the doctor unless he is in some major pain and that is usually only when his collarbone is killing him.  Anyway, the night before last he asked me to trade him sides on the bed to see if my side he could get sleep on, I agreed.  Holy Crap!  The man wasn’t lying.  His side of the bed is awful, I slept like doo doo if you can even call it sleep.  I tossed and turned and was awake half the night, and every time I was awake all I could think about was a new mattress.  Yesterday I was on a mission to find a new mattress and surprise him with it.  He likes a firmer bed while I like it softer.  There is only one mattress compromise…A Sleep Number Bed.  I looked them upon the internet and was shocked that the price wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  I then headed to the store.  The sales guy was fantastic there and spent over an hour with me, answering every question, not being pushy and being completely honest with me.  You don’t find that with sales people very much.  I decided to bring Billy up to speed with what I was doing since this was going to be an investment and if he was going to spend this amount of money I would want in the loop.  He was all for it.  I went back to the store and Mr. Randy, my new best friend aka sales guy, informed me that he would not sell me the bed today because there is a sale starting tomorrow.  Awesomeness.  Plus this gave Billy and I more time to talk about it and decide on the right one.  I came home with 3 different quotes because god forbid I narrow it down by myself, the joy of gemini-ism.  I finally got his undivided attention and we tackled the decision.  The queen P5 will be our new sleep number bed.  If you have not laid down on a sleep number bed let me just tell you…it is heaven.  I found out that my sleep number is 30, I know you all will sleep so much better knowing that about me  😉  At the store they have you lay down on a display bed that  is hooked up to a computer and it shows you all the pressure points in color and as they lower the number you can see the pressure disappearing.  I was sold.  I could have slept in that store for hours on the beds.  So needless to say I will be headed back to the Sleep Number Store today to purchase our new bed get up.  Merry Christmas to us!

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on December 2, 2010, in Events, kids, life, Me, miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Sleep number beds are a gift from the heavens! Love them!

  2. Awww, the bliss of that one day with just your kids! Isn’t it great! Too bad the fights soon return…

    AJ

  3. We need a new bed.Its horrible! But we are gonna wait til income tax. Thats our Christmas!

Leave a Reply

