I have been reminded….

On yesterday’s post a comment was left by Mr. Anthony and part of it read “Careful not to miss it all once Christmas arrives!”.   Excellent point my friend and you got me thinking.  It is so easy to get caught up in the holiday stress, the ‘to do lists’, finding that perfect gift, and running around  that you stop enjoying the holiday.  December is a great month but that can easily be lost in the holiday craziness of parties, events, shopping, wrapping, and running around like you have gone mad that you start cursing the holiday and the month itself.  I mean even going shopping, if you stop and look around what percentage of people that you are shopping with have a sour, I am going to kill someone look on their face?  That’s not very Christmasy.  I have been guilty of it but it’s usually because I have encountered someone who is a Scrooge who has now put a damper on my day.  I always try to keep a positive attitude while I am out and about, especially during the holidays, holding doors for moms with kids in tow or the elderly, I always try to smile at people I pass, say hello.  I don’t want to be that person that looks like I could break at any given christmas moment.  Why do we let ourselves do that?  Do we blame the media for all the hype, ourselves for allowing the madness to take over, or is it just holiday on top of our already too busy  lives?  I don’t know but I am slowing down right now and reassessing the holiday.  No more stressing, no more worrying.  Its the time of year to relax and enjoy each other, friends, family..to be thankful for everything that we have in our lives.  It is the time of year to stop looking at all the material things, the ‘stuff’ that doesn’t really matter.  Yes we are fortunate to have what we have, to be able to give the gifts that we do, to make our kids and family’s wish lists come true but when it comes right down to it..does that stuff really matter?  No.  I am not saying I am going to go return all the gifts that I have bought or stop shopping for the rest of the season I am just going to kick it back a notch and settle down a bit, enjoy this time with my family, be thankful for what we have and the family around us and most of all enjoy the upcoming two and a half weeks I have with the kids and the week I am going to have with my husband.  I am going to quit thinking everything has to be perfect (gifts included), let the kids help me wrap the presents without jumping all over them for putting the tape in the wrong place, I am just going to chill out a bit and relax.  I have let myself stress about the perfect gifts for everyone, wanting to get them exactly what is on their wish list..where is the element of surprise in that?  There is none.  Yes I have gifts for people that are exactly what they want but I have now reminded myself that this does not have to be the case with every single gift.  I used to be so good at giving great random gifts or making gifts that when the recipient opened it they had a huge smile on their face because it was something they weren’t expecting.  I somehow have let that go to they way side this year.  Have I let my inner Santa runaway?  Well today I am playing hide and go seek with my inner Santa and I will win and bring back the great random gifts.  One of the best gifts I have ever received was a tin box full of 365 random sayings and quotes, one to be pulled out each day, from my sister.  No she did not go out and purchase this gift, it was made by her and I still walk by it and pull a random saying out and it always puts a smile on my face and makes my day.  Gifts like that are truly the best.

So from here on out I vow to slow down, relax, chill out, and remember the true meaning of Christmas.  I will enjoy every moment I have with my family.  And the big one….I will try real hard not to start wishing school was back in after the first week they are out.   😉

 

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on December 7, 2010, in all things wonderful, Beautiful, Events, family, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Haha we share a brain at times. I posted my Aetna rambling today in lieu of my “list of shit I didn’t do for the holiday update” 🙂 In honor of “remembering the holiday” and not the to do list I might post it anyway 🙂

  2. Crickey famous (or is it infamous) already and I’m sill a green round the gills blogger, thanks for the mention! You couldn’t have put it more eloquently of course!

  3. I’m one of those people who doesn’t care if I get a gift or not. For me, it’s all about being around family. It’s a time that I can get out the camera or camcorder and record our holiday lives.

    • Absolutely Bob! I think that is lost in the all the hub bub of the holidays. I am the same way, gifts or not, to me it is about family and the time we get to spend with them.

Leave a Reply

