My 100th Post..It’s Epic. Well not really I just Called it That.

Well people…this is it…are you ready?  Hold on to your pants because I am about to blow them off!  It’s my 100th post.  It’s Epic.

No, not really but that was one hell of an intro wasn’t it!   It is my 100th post but the blowing your pants off with my epicness is the questionable part.   😉

I started this blog back when ever I did my first post and I didn’t know what to expect out of it.  Was I going to keep up with it?  What the hell was I going to blog about?  Did I have anything at all interesting to say?  Is anybody going to give a darn about it?  I have found that the answer was YES to all the above questions!  Unbelievable!  Seriously, I am blown away.

I started my blog so I would have a place to write things down, make notes of my life, a place to put down my thoughts, my rants, share my photos, and vent if I need to.  I never intended for anyone to really keep up with it and/or care what came out of my brain, I just thought of it as mine.  Well I have been taken back by the fact that there are some fellow bloggers that actually do keep up with it, care what I have to say, think that I am funny, and comment to reassure I am not crazy.  There are fellow bloggers that click on my blog while scanning the 100,000’s of other blogs out there.  Wow.  Some just read and leave, some most probably start reading and then move on, but some actually take the time to comment.  That is pretty darn cool.

When I started this venture, like I said before, I didn’t know what to expect or hell, what I was doing for that matter.  What I have learned is blogging is awesome, I find it therapeutic, it is nerve calming, it is reassuring, it is comforting, it is scary.  I used to write when I was younger, keeping a journal of sorts, jotting things down here or there, I was a doodler..big time, I kept a binder full of poems that I would write, usually about something crazy that was going on.  But as I got older and busier that went to the way side.  I had forgotten how much I enjoy writing, not that it is professional in any way shape or form.  I am sure anyone would have a hay day given my blog and a red pen.  I am not a professional writer, never claimed to be, don’t want to be.  I write as I would say it to you if we were having a conversation in person, as it flows (flows thats a good one..like anything just ‘flows’ from my brain) from my mind.  I don’t have time for big words and all that jazz.  My blog is me..who I am…the person I have grown to be…it is my life.

I said I find it therapeutic, and after blogging for awhile I was amazed to realize this.  I noticed how much better I felt after I did a post, especially a post about touchy subjects in my life, or when I was irate and needed to vent.  Getting it out feels so good.  I write, I feel better, I move on.  Another thing I have noticed is how scary it is.  I am one that thinks..out of sight out of mind.  I took this to the extreme when I had my 2 kids..yes my eyes were closed through both births…out of sight out of mind at it’s finest.  “I have my eyes closed and can’t see that I am pushing a baby out so it’s not really happening, so what the hell is that pain I am feeling????”  Wow..talk about getting off track..jumping back on..aaaaand continue.  But what I mean is when I sit to post about some touchier subjects they become real again, you relive the emotions, the fears, the feelings.  That is scary but again, so therapeutic.  I guess you can say my blog has become my therapy with some life happenings…and its Free!  Hells Yeah!

The comments…they are awesome.  First and foremost it proves people actually read my blog…still funny to me.  But it’s cool because some comments reconfirm that I am not crazy or losing my mind, it lets me know others have had similar feelings or thoughts, that I am not alone in some of my thinking, and others have been in similar situations and with that you get advice.  I have taken some of the advice and have applied it to my every day life or in certain situations.  Thank you to all that reads and comments!  You all rock my world!

Another cool factor of blogging…the community that I have found in it with fellow bloggers…complete strangers.  I love meeting new people, hearing what they have to say, learning about them..their lives, I love the diversity of it all.  What blows my mind is finding complete strangers that are similar to myself, that have or are going through the same things, reading their blogs and thinking “I have been through that too!” and seeing how they handled it.  Its pretty darn coolio.  I have found my twin  😉  a couple of states away…we share the same brain at times, I always look forward to reading her blog. Shout out!..you know who you are!   I have found other bloggers that I look forward to reading their blogs because they always make me laugh and put a smile on my face…word, others are more on the serious side and get me thinking, others are from older people that share their stories of times past..fascinating!  Its just neat, what a generic word. but it is just that.  The community aspect of blogging is something I was unaware of and didn’t know I would find or didn’t know I was looking for.  But I did and it’s Awesome.

I have had some rough patches along the way of my blogging experience..pissing some people off, I’m good at that I have learned.  But it is what it is.  I think they are just way to touchy but whatever.  I have learned what I can and can’t blog about or at least how to go about it more discreetly.  I have learned people don’t like to be called out in my blog…oops, truth hurts doesn’t it?  It is all a learning experience and with anything you learn from your mistakes and grow from it and become better.  And I have learned how to use the ‘Private’ post button and use it when I really need to get things out..specific things.  Sadly I have to make it for my eyes only because god forbid I piss another person off.  If I could go back and change one thing from my blogging experience, I would have never, never, ever, never, made it known to personal everyday friends and family.  I made that mistake when I got Freshly Pressed, I was just so excited and made the mistake in all the hoopla.  OOPS!  Oh well…too late now.

Which leads me to getting Freshly Pressed for a post I did titled It is What it is When You Wear What you Wear.  That was a funny, crazy, whirlwind couple of days.  300+ comments and over 10,000 views.  I didn’t realize I couldn’t get that many people’s panties in a bunch.  I never set out in hopes to get FP’d so that day when the first comment came in congratulating me on getting FP’d my first thought “they just commented on the wrong blog” then I immediately went to the front page and there it was.  Holy Flippity!  What cracks me up is I wrote that post in about 10-15 minutes and was being a complete smart ass in some of it and people read it, twisted it, yelled at me, agreed with me, tweeted it, reposted it, handed my ass to me, applauded me etc.  What an experience that was and I am pretty sure I am ok with that 15 minutes of fame for awhile.  No more FP’d for me please!

So with all that said…I am thankful for finding my blogging home, I am thankful for all of you who takes a couple of minutes out of your day to read it and share your comments, advice, and stories.  I am thankful for the friends that have been made, your stories, your blogs.  I am thankful for free therapy!

So here’s to the next 100!

Cheers!  and always…..KEEP ROCK’N!

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on December 11, 2010, in all things wonderful, Amazing, Beautiful, Events, life, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Yay! 100! And yea, cosmic twins rock 🙂 I don’t even know what my 100th post was I am closer to 250-300 range now!

  2. Congrats on the epic 1ooth! I just wish I would have discovered blogging earlier. Well, maybe not, because between this and Facebook, I don’t get much done..lol..

  3. Congrats on the milestone! I think that it’s so cool you got FP…10,000 hits?!? I would probably wet myself. Glad to have found you, new friend! It’s amazing how you can connect through blogging…feel better soon!

  4. Congrats. You are awesome and I hope you know it. Thanks for letting me force you to be my blogging friend.
    Blogging friend and commenter for life. Or until my computer battery life runs out.

  5. I’m totally with you on this: “Some comments reconfirm that I am not crazy or losing my mind, it lets me know others have had similar feelings or thoughts, that I am not alone in some of my thinking.”

    I’m looking forward to another 100!

  6. YAY! 100
    I know what you mean about the being called out in your blog. Even if the person doesn’t even know you have a blog, they are somehow going to find it. This happened on the very first blog that I ever had. I have since learned my lesson.

  7. Blogging is fun. You rock and keep up the good work. I have met a lot of cool people from blogging all over the world. I have two blogs. The other one is defutebol.net. It is about soccer. I am a soccer nut.

Leave a Reply

