Nightmare on Elm Street Documentary…Awesome.

Last night I watched a documentary on Nightmare on Elm Street.  It was an almost 4 hour movie recapping all the Nightmare with interviews of actors, directors, screenwriters, producers etc.  It was one of the best movie documentaries I have seen.

After watching the Nightmare on Elm Street Documentary I want to go rent all 7 of them (I think there was 7, it was 6 or 7) and have a marathon.  I remember 1 through 4 with 1 and 3 sticking out in my mind with haunting moments.  It has been so long since I have seen Nightmare 1 that I forgot or just didn’t realize Johnny Depp was in that movie and he was the one that got sucked down in the bed.

OH NO!

I Hated this scened with a passion.  It scared the living bejeezus out of me.  And to think I didn’t realize I was looking at Johnny Depp.  Dumb girl.  But hey I was probably 13/14 when I first saw this movie, a few years after it first came out.

This is what got me!

Talk about a movie giving me nightmares.  I would not sleep in a middle of a bed forever and still today think about it from time to time.  Not cool man, not cool.  Did you know they used a rotating room to make this shot and it was completely upside down when they started dumping the ‘blood’.  Gallons of water hit that light you see there on the ceiling and electrocuted the dude pouring the water.  Then all hell broke loose.  The rotating room was operated by hand and they lost control of it when dude was electrocuted.  Everyone was running around trying to find the kill switch for the electricity, the camera guy was stuck spinning in the room.  It was mayhem and panic.  They did this scene in one shot and if you look back at the movie the ‘blood’ moves and thanks to the room loosing control that shot was made awesome.

Now let’s pause for a moment…and take another look at the actor that got sucked into the blood vomiting bed…

 

I could eat him.

Ahh…I could eat him alive.  He is dreamy.  Yes I just said dreamy.  He’s groovy too   😉

Nightmare 2 I remember but was not effected by.  Now Nightmare 3..that’s a whole different story.  My favorite by far.  Looking back I probably needed therapy as a teen.  One of the scariest movies I think I have ever seen.  I’m talking scary not the new blood and guts movies that are out now.  I don’t do blood and guts very well anymore.  I’m getting old.  There were so many scenes in Nightmare 3 that scared me for life and gave me a great deal of nightmare of my own.  Let’s recap.

 

This scene where their veins are ripped from their arms and they are puppeted (I’m pretty sure that is not a word but this is my blog and I say it is a word now) around has haunted me since the first time I watched this movie.  That is just freaking c-r-ee-py!  One of the best horror scenes ever shot.  Just the thought of that happening is enough to make your skin crawl.  I get the heeby jeebies just thinking about it!

 

 

Who can forget the scene where Krueger is in the tv and picks up blonde chick with his robot tv  arms and his head pops out the top, antennas and all, and puts her head through the tv with the classic phrase “Get Ready for Primetime, Bitch”.  Classic.  Scary.

 

 

 

 

Then there was the Krueger worm.  Completely scary and wrong in so many ways.  And if I was doing this all right in sequence this one should be above the tv one, but I am lazy so I am leaving it as is.  When they made the first model for the Krueger worm they all had the same thought when they first laid eyes on it…it looked like a penis.  The creator of the worm said “I know”.  That is what he was going for but they couldn’t pull that off with out a different rating so they had to change the head just a bit and make it a different color, they made it a greenish color.  It was originally a flesh color.  There is more underlying sexuality in these movies than I first realized.  I am blaming my age when I first watched the movies for my ignorance and not picking up on it.  Hey I was young and seen a worm not a penis..I was too busy being scared and trying not to soil my pants.

 

What cracked me up last night as I was watching the documentary was when they talked about Nightmare 2 and the underlying gay tones that was played out unknowingly through the entire movie.  The directors didn’t intentionally make it out to be that way but when they played it back they were all shocked.  It is now ranked as the #1 gay horror movie.  Watching the clips it is so, main character with a “no chicks aloud sign on his door”, he walked out when given the chance with his girlfriend to go spend the night at his buddy’s house, the nude scene with the coach and the bare ass towel smacking, and little things like a board game named “probe”.  Quite funny.

I barely remember seeing Nightmare 4, didn’t waste my time with Nightmare 5, watched parts of the New Nightmare and haven’t watched Freddy vs. Jason.  This is why I need a marathon.  It was 1 and 3 that did it for me.  Even though Nightmare was created by Wes Craven he only directed 1, 3, and New Nightmare.  Really the only good ones out there.  They failed miserably at 2 and lost the true Nightmare feeling and well, made it gay.

Nightmare on Elm Street, for me, was my true horror film and ones that I will always remember.  Freddy Krueger will always be the real true boogey man.  I mean come on he lives in your nightmares how much better can a horror film get!

I do like a good horror movie…main word horror.  I don’t do blood and guts too well anymore.  Sign of getting old?  Maybe.  What did it in for me was Rob Zombie’s House of a 1,000 Corpses.  I watched when B was out of town and I was alone in the living room.  I think I watched the majority of it with my hands over my face.  That was just a weird gory movie, but then again it was a Rob Zombie movie so what was I expecting.  I have tried to watch the Saw movies but just can’t.  It sucks because it’s a psychological movie and I love those..movies that mess with the brain.  I just can’t stomach them though and it makes me feel like a wussie.

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on December 30, 2010, in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I didn’t really have a problem with the Elm Street movies (the head through the TV is my favorite scene from all of the movies), but ‘Saw’ really creeped my out. I had such an uneasy feeling in my stomach the whole time I was watching it. I haven’t seen any of the other Saw movies. I can handle zombie movies with no problem, but if a movie has a chainsaw or a hacksaw in it, I freak out.

  2. I remember watching the first one at a friend’s house and her older brother was home. He went sneaking around the back of the house and put clothes-pins on his fingers and then came up behind us on the couch and scared the bejeezus out of us! Happy marathoning!

  3. I want to see this documentary! I did a Nightmare marathon a few Halloweens ago. I was shocked to see Johnny Depp, too.

    Did you see the new one? The Rob Zombie movie scared the crap outta me, too.

    • I have not seen the new one. The one Rob Zombie movie 1,000 corpses did me in with his movies. I’m a wuss. The documentary played on Bio last night and I am sure they will run it again.

Leave a Reply

