Dear Eye, you’re not funny.

Seven years ago I was laying in bed with my son who was 1 at the time trying to get him to fall asleep.  He was not tired and refused to cooperate with the fact that it was bedtime.  I went to sit up in the bed and just as I was lifting my head up off the pillow my son decided to point at my eye.  It was dark and I didn’t see this happening.  Well his finger met my eye.  It was the worst pain I have ever felt.  I didn’t sleep that night, instead I sat on the couch trying to catch a few minutes of sleep in between the pain and the waterfall my eye had become.  The next day it was not better, it was worse.  A trip to the emergency room was in order.  My son at 1 year old has caused me the most excruciating pain I have ever felt…TWICE now in his short 1 year on this earth.  The first being him wanting to come out of my vagina before I could get an epidural.  I had the epidural needle in my back when he decided it was time therefore causing much panic, them pulling the needle out and laying me down to start the now natural childbirth.  Not what I signed up for with birthing a child, I like drugs.  Now the second being him sticking his finger in my eye and come to find out he had cut my cornea.  If you have never had an eye injury it is awful and it ranks right up there with natural child birth if not exceeding it.  The doctors put numbing drops in my eye and talk about relief, it was the best thing I had ever felt.  After numbing it so they could take a look at it they gave me my diagnosis, told me I needed to go to an eye doctor and gave me a script for drops.  I was ecstatic thinking I was getting a bottle of these heavenly numbing drops.  Oh No.  The drops were just an antibiotic for my eye, they couldn’t give me the numbing drops because if you over use them your sight is in jeopardy.  Well I like my sight..it’s kinda cool.  For the next 2 to 3 days I ‘tried’ to sleep..tried…that’s funny.  It hurt to have my eye open, it hurt to have it closed.  If I could stand to have it closed for more than 2 seconds the water would build so when I did open it, it looked like I had turned on a faucet.  That is not an exaggeration.  I would open my eyelid and water would pour out, literally.  So not cool.

Seven years later it still bothers me.  If my eyes are crazy dry or I am extremely exhausted, especially in the morning, I can open my eye and it feels like it is being scratched all over again.  It hurts to blink, it hurts if the littlest breeze hits it and it waters…and waters…and waters…and waters.  For hours.  This a.m I opened my eyes and felt the scratch and immediately thought..FUCK…here we go.  That was at 7:30am  it is now 9:30am and it’s still watering.  It’s fabulous.

My husband and sister used to not understand this reoccurring watering and pain until they too both had something happen to their eyes.  My husband was playing with the kids outback one day this fall and looked up to have a little thingy fall out of a tree and hit him directly in the eye.  He went through the same thing, not to the degree mine was but he did have a cut.  He now gets it and he now has the reenactment of his injury as well at different times.  I don’t know if the eye just never truly heels itself or its just a dirty little trick that our bodies like to play on us.  If that’s the case, I do not find it humorous at all, it’s quite annoying and can screw a day in about .2 seconds.  For one your eye waters for hours on end and two after it finally decides to stop your eye is puffy for hours after.  It makes you oh so beautiful.

I have to say I am very grateful for my eye sight and the fact that I still have excellent vision.  No need for glasses, not a change in my 20/20.  It’s a freaking miracle I must say.

Never take your sight for granted!  If you are doing something where there might be a chance of something making its way into your eye..wear your safety glasses.  I wear mine 24/7 when I am around my kids.  That is a complete lie but I should.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on January 9, 2011, in life, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Reading this makes me nervous to even get Lasik now! I had a scratch on my eye from glitter, god lord, it was horrible. I can sympathize!

  2. Childbirth and eye stuff…the two things that make me queasy. And you managed to get them both in the same post.

    Ouch! I hope your eye is feeling better…and you know, down there.

  3. I have 20/15 vision…I didn’t know what this meant until the doctor said “You have freakishly good vision.” I’m scared, though! Both my parents rock the specs, and I fear I’m headed for that fate! So, I’m grateful everyday for my vision, and will try to keep my Superman X-Ray vision going for as long as possible!

Leave a Reply

