A Smorgasbord Post: A letter, the recap and a benefit.

I have so much to cover.  This is going to be one hell of a smorgasbord of a post.  I could break it up into different posts I guess but…oh what the hell here we go.

First we will start with a letter.  I see a new trend going on with my blog, letters to things that will never write me back.  They (I don’t even know who the hell ‘they’ are) can’t write me back, ‘they’ don’t even have hands to write with, hell ‘they’ aren’t even real people.  So far ‘they’ have been my cold, my eyes, and another cold.  This time it will be a Mother Nature.  I might be going crazy.

Dear Mother Nature,

We need to talk about your weather trends this winter.  I am not happy with your weather, I am not happy with your snow.  One of the reasons I love it here in Tennessee is because of the weather.  It doesn’t *usually* get crazy cold until January and the snow *usually* doesn’t come until late January or February.  This year you decided to start in December with the frigid temperatures and the snow.  Not cool nor is it funny.  I have had it.  I woke up this morning to almost 3 inches of snow on the ground with more coming throughout the day and even more falling and accumulating tomorrow.  What the crap is this, a funny joke?  Well you suck at being a comedian if that is the case.  If you were on a stage I would so throw tomatoes at you.  So now with all this snow on the ground and it being Tennessee, schools are out once again and will be for at least half the week.  Do you not understand that the kids need to go to school?  They need to go so they can learn and most importantly be out of the house in a social setting away from us moms so we can get done what we need to get done.  I don’t mind a snow day later in the week, Wednesday is good or even Thursday.  But to throw up your white stuff on a Sunday night into Monday with even more on a Tuesday..are you kidding me?  Do you not get that we just spent the entire weekend with our kids and we now need a bit of a break?  Now don’t get me wrong I am grateful to not here my annoying beeping alarm in the am but I had stuff to get done today and now that is shot.  Instead I will be in the house with an 8 year old and a non stop talking 5 year old.  I will be less at least one ear come days end.  Take right this second for example, I am trying to type a post and I have my 8 yr old standing in front of me with silly puddy saying ‘Mom, look at this’ every 6 seconds when he puts it in a different shape and my 5 yr old doing the same thing while yelling at the dog for trying to eat her silly puddy.  You obviously have no children and have no idea what you put us moms through.  I would love your cooperation from here on out for the rest of the winter and I would prefer your shenanigans later in the week from now on.  Thank you in advance for listening to my requests and complying.

Sincerely,

Jamie

Ok moving on..

I had a great weekend.   Friday evening brought the old 3 back together with dinner and drinky poos afterwards.  Fan-tabulous!  I had a great time catching up and hanging out.  Much needed.  Saturday needless to say I didn’t exist because I am old and honestly it takes me a day to recover from just a late night anymore.

Yesterday was the benefit for Brandi and it was A-Mazing!  I arrived around 3:30, the music started at 4.  When I got there the place was already 85% full!  Unbelievable!!!!!  Throughout the night it just kept filling to the point that there wasn’t an empty seat in the place and you couldn’t walk through.  It was amazing to see all the people and feel all the love and support that was in that place.  50-60 people drove up from Louisiana (where Brandi is from) to be there with her for this event.  Absolutely amazing.  And a band from New Orleans came up to play.  I felt like I was right there on Bourbon Street.  Brandi got up and used every ounce of energy she had to be on stage with the Wooten Brothers.  She is a true trooper.  Throughout the evening they had a silent auction with amazing items.  The music talent I don’t even have words for…it was amazing.  Between the New Orleans band to famous musicians in Nashville I was wowed every time new people took the stage.  When I left last night at 7:45 they had already raised $8,000 and this morning I heard they raised $11,000 last night and that does not include money from the silent auction.  The Kenny Rogers even donated $1,000 to Brandi plus another grand from another well known country musician.  Un-believable!  Brandi is much loved throughout our town.  I heart Nashville for so many reasons and one main reason is the way this town comes together.  It was first proved to me when we had the flood and again last night when the place almost met capacity.  Brandi is loved by all and she will strive and win this battle with cancer.

We love you Brandi!

And to you Nashville, I love you, I am proud to call this wonderful city home.  To see everyone come together for whatever cause it is and to witness the love this city can show is by far hands down what makes this the most amazing city to live in.  The only complaint I have now with you is the weather and hopefully my letter to Mother Nature will heed much needed results in that department.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on January 10, 2011, in all things wonderful, Amazing, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Simply….awesome!

  2. Glad the benefit went well!

  3. Thats awesome … I was telling my hubby about your benefit.
    Im so glad it worked out.

  4. I am so happy the benefit turned out to be a success!

    I also think you should do those “letters” waaaaaay more! That was hilarious! I love the idea…totally original!

Leave a Reply

