My bestie

I only have a few moments until the house fully awakes this morning, so this might be short and sweet.  I have my best friend from high school in town with her 2 little boys.  They arrived Friday and are here until tomorrow.  I cannot begin to say how much I have loved having her here with me, I love her so.  This is the most time we have been able to spend together since 1998 when I moved away.  We met each other our Freshman year of high school and that is all she wrote, we were together constantly.  Then I moved, she moved and we lost touch for awhile, we would talk every once in a while and when my mom passed away she was in town in a split second to be there for me, with me.  She loved my mom like she was her own daughter.  Over the last 2 years I have seen her more but it has just been  a quick visit here and there or if she was in town at her dad’s and I was at mine (before he moved down here).  I love this girl more than she knows, it is one of those genuine friendships that doesn’t come around very often, she gets me..I get her.  I do and cherish our friendship and will forever.  What I find amazing and truly wonderful is that even though we haven’t spent a lengthy period of time together over the past 12 years, we haven’t skipped a beat.  There hasn’t been an awkward silence or a time when we haven’t had anything to talk about.  We just picked up like we always do and there is never a moment of silence.  We will be the two old broads sitting at a bar when we are 75 having a beer and laughing so hard we most likely pee in our depends.  I can’t wait!

It has been a wonderful visit.  I have gotten to know her kids who are 4 and 2, both precious boys with her infectious smile and laugh.  They are sweet hearts and I love them so.  She also has gotten to know mine and has fell in love with them, E even made the comment yesterday that she wanted to go home with her.  Umm..No but we will make sure that this length of time between visits never happen again   😉    We have had a blast.  I have been officially reminded though how much energy and craziness a 2 & 4 year old have and the first night they were here I thanked my kids for being 5 & 8!  haha!   I am going to need a huge nap come tomorrow afternoon!

She truly is like a sister to me and I was reminded of this Thursday when her and I were going back and forth on facebook talking and giving each other a hard time about god knows what.  But one of her friend’s up in Columbus wrote “Are you two sisters?”  Well no but we might as well be.  We were inseparable for many years, her family was like mine and vice versa.  She is one of my only friends to have a relationship with my Dad the way they do.  It’s a little creepy.  My dad talks to me about everything….everything, and some of the things we talk about is a little weird for a dad/daughter to talk about, we have just always been uber honest with each other and as weird as some of the openness is that we have, I truly appreciate it.  Well it’s the same way with my friend and my dad.  We went out there Saturday to visit and as some of the conversations started taking a weirdly honest turn I could only think one thing…how cool is that.   For one that my dad is comfortable with it because I think most would be like “what the hell!” and two that she is that comfortable with him.  Now don’t get me wrong we aren’t talking about completely weird stuff that crosses any lines or anything just normal stuff that you wouldn’t normally talk to a dad about, and someone else’s dad at that.  That’s all.  But I think it is awesome.

For the past couple of years her and her husband have talked about wanting to move down here, but they have to wait for the economy to get a bit better for the sale of their house and two her husband has to have an opening within his company down here.  Well, she is ready to move..now.  He told her yesterday that there are a couple of positions open around here right now and one being just 10 miles away.  WHAT!  But he has to wait a year before he is able to transfer   😦    What a bummer.  But we sat last night and daydreamed anyway, looking at real estate in the area and cost of living etc.  Having her and her family down here with me would be a wish come true and if it ever happens I will be the happiest girl on earth.

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on January 18, 2011, in all things wonderful, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

