A touching letter from my toes.

I found this touching letter this morning on the stove, I wanted to share it with you.

Dear Body aka Jamie,

How are you?  How is it on the outside?  Is it sunny?  Is it warm?

As I sit here in sock prison I find myself counting the days till my release but I am not sure when that will be.  With all this stagnant time on my hands, or feet I should say, I do a lot of thinking.  Thinking and trying to figure out what I did to deserve this harsh sentence.  What did I do that was so bad that I was sent to the jailhouse of socks for so long?  I have been in here for almost 3 months now and I am starting to go a little crazy.  It’s dark, at times it can be cozy but it seems there is always a draft coming from underneath…holes in the prison sock walls.  I get chills…it’s like a form of torture to speak, but I have nothing to say.  I did nothing wrong.  I am let out for just a little bit everyday to enjoy the air but quickly shuffled back in to the sock cell or sometimes even a slipper cell.  It’s hot in the slipper cell, I sweat and sometimes it causes an odor.  They really need to revamp the slipper cells, something new.  I would prefer a slipper cell covered in pink fluffy comfortable soft walls.  But instead I am thrown into a black worn stinky slipper cell where I sweat.

I heard through the walls the other day that is was supposed to be 50 degrees on the outside and I contemplated breaking out.  Breaking out and running…running for my favorite thing in the whole wide world.  Flip Flops.  They are my true love..my soul mate..they complete me. I could see them sitting there in the distance, calling to me, wanting me in them.  We would walk away together into the sun. We would sit at the park and bask in the warmth of the sun, maybe walk over to the swing and push a child.  We would go back home and make sweet love.  How I love my flip flops.  I got a peek outside that day and even though the temperature was right it was still cold, gray, and chilly out.  I couldn’t do it.  It was too soon, I knew that if I got out I would just be thrown back into my drafty cell for longer.  Instead I sat in my cell and daydreamed.  My daydreams are the only thing that gets me through my days.  I know one day soon I will be free.  Free to be with my love, free to be naked all day long.  To feel the breeze, to feel the sun, to feel the grass.  Oh glory days are ahead.  So I will wait.  I will finish out my dreary, drafty, closed in sentence in my cell of socks and wait.

I know my flip flops will wait for me, they always do.  Every year they are waiting for me with open arms, ready to take me back, to love me even more than the time before.  This is why I love them.  It’s true love you see, a love few find.

So while you are on the outside, please don’t forget about me.  Give my love to the flip flops, give them a hug for me and let them know I will be out soon.  Let them know how much I love them, caress them softly once for me, show them some love.  I know they are lonely but they must be strong, I will be there soon.

Sincerely,

Your Toes

I read this letter while my coffee was brewing this morning.  I immediately got tears in my eyes because I could feel the pain.  I sat down and wrote back.

Dear Toes,

Your letter brought tears to my eyes.  I am so sorry you are in sock prison, I know you will be out soon.  For now it is the best place for you.  You see it is incredibly cold outside, snowy, and icy.  It is not pleasant and you are not missing anything, I promise you.  I am sorry it is drafty in your cell.  Rest assure that new walls have been purchase and will be worn.  You will have no more drafts, your cell, starting today will be draft free, warm and cozy.  I promise.  I know since moving to Tennessee you get to be out more often than when we were up north.  You have made this wonderful long lasting relationship with your flip flops and I get it but this year it’s different.  I have no control over this, if I could make it all go away I would..trust me.  I have written a letter to Mother Nature asking her WHY??  Why have you sent us all this cold, why are you throwing your white stuff all over us.  Where are our 60 degree days in January?  I have heard no response..zero, zilch, not even a “your letter has been received and will be read”.  I have had it with her and believe you me, if I ever see her out and about I will double no make that triple karate chop her in both boobies.  One for me, one for you and one for your flip flops.  This year is unusually cold and snowy, I don’t like it either.  If I could pack us up and take us away I would do it in a heartbeat, but I just can’t.  Maybe soon I will take you somewhere warm, back to the Keys maybe.  Where you and your flip flops can walk in the sand, in the ocean.  You can make sweet love all day long as I walk from bar to bar.  You two will keep me safe, safe from falling, safe from stepping on something that would wound both me and you.  It will be grand but we have to have patience.

So please for me and flip flops, be patient. I will do everything in my power to make the rest of your sentence as pleasant as possible.  I will keep you warm and safe so you are well rested for your reunion.  You will need it.

So to you, thank you for being understanding, thank you for being patient, thank you for sticking with me.

With all my love,

Jamie

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on January 26, 2011, in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I nearly died laughing at the “make sweet love” line regarding the toes and flip flops love affair! So awesome!

  2. I could soooo write a letter like this from my shoulders to myself…

    Dear self,

    We hate being hunched in your big, puffy coat all winter long. We’re tense, we’re stresed, and we don’t want to be huddled over everytime we go outside. When that wind blows, we scrunch up so high that we hide your neck. Please, please…let us try on a spring jacket..light, colorful, airy. Thanks. Love, The Shoulders

    I WANT SPRING NOW!

  3. Moving. Heart Wretching. I give it 10 toes up!
    I seriously am contacting Lifetime about a possibly script staring the two star crossed loves feet and flip flops!
    Uh, don’t worry I’ll mention you …somewhere in it.

  4. I like your reply! Especially “triple karate chop her in both boobies.”

  5. LOL! Ohmigosh that was funny! I laughed so hard, I scared my cat out of the room. LOL!! Poor tooty.

Leave a Reply

