A reason for a little black dress…

Have a seat because I am about to blow your mind.

Yesterday I was shocked by my husband.  Our anniversary is Monday so we are going to celebrate it tomorrow night.  There is a band playing tomorrow night, Mindset Defect, and I had mentioned to B that we should go see them again and maybe go get a bite to eat before.  Now when there is dinner involved our conversation usually goes something like this:  Me: Where do yo want to eat?  B:  I don’t know, where do you want to eat? This gets repeated at least 10 times until we both surrender and we go to one of our default restaurants.  Yesterday I received an email from B with a link to a restaurant website asking what I thought about it. What! Did he just research places to eat and suggest something totally different?  Yes, yes he did.  He suggested The Standard at the Smith House.  I have never heard of this place before so I clicked the link and checked it out.

“The Smith House is Nashville’s only remaining grand townhouse from the 1840’s era still standing.  It has a rich history and continues to be an integral part of the life in downtown Nashville.”

All photos from:  www.smithhousenashville.com

How fancy!  I’m impressed..completely impressed.  Then he called and asked what time the show started because he was going to make reservations.  You read that correctly…HE was going to make reservations.  People, this doesn’t happen.  It’s usually “why don’t you call make us reservations”…meaning me call.  I soon received an email that he forwarded to me confirming our reservations for Friday night at 7.  Wow. I just about fell out of my chair.  I checked his head when he got home last night.  😉

So now my dilemma, what to wear.  A cute little cocktail dress would be completely appropriate for this restaurant but where the dilemma really falls is that yes we are going to fancy restaurant for dinner but right afterwards we head to a concert..a hard rock concert.  So how to dress the part for both?  I think I will go the cocktail dress route because it is fun and I never have a reason to wear a sexy little black dress.  And this means…drum roll please!…I have to go shopping!  Darn it!   😉   I have a couple of cute little dresses but they are old..seriously over 5 years old.  I need a new one.

So with that, I will take my butt to my room to get ready to go….Shopping!

Hi ho hi ho..it’s off to shop I go..going to have some fun and buy a dress..hi ho hi ho hi ho

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on January 27, 2011, in all things wonderful, life, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. *squeals of delight* this will be so much fun! Oh and yea holy crap, B really stepped it up for this event from the planning perspective!

  2. Here’s what you do: you glam up with that LBD of yours, then add a sparkly accessory for the rock concert! A sequined shrug, a glittery scarf, some major bling? Oh, and of course, kick-ass shoes! That restaurant looks amazing!

    • I took this advice with me today! But sadly I had no luck on the little black dress. It was either too much or not enough. If I wanted to drop over $100 I could have found something but didn’t want to do that. So instead I found a cute off one shoulder top to wear with my black skinnies and royal blue suede stilettos! The shirt has hints of the exact blue throughout it! Oh AND bought the shoes and got a pair of boots for $10! SCORE!

  3. Woo-hoo for you! A pleasant change!

    But he might be a pod person. Did you check that? I’m not sure how to check for that, but you may want to look into it.

  4. Oh wow! that sounds really great to me and the place (from the pics) looks delightful and pleasant! wishing you both a happiest anniversary. btw, don’t forget to post the pics of YOU in your little black dress! 😉

    • Thank you so much!
      Like I said above I had absolutely no luck in the dress department. all the prom dresses are out so they were all too fancy or the others weren’t enough. 😦 But I do have something to wear!

  5. Take pics of what you try on.
    I am so excited for you .
    My anniversary was on the 12th.
    Happy Anniversary.
    What a great excuse to go shopping!

  6. I don’t know. Do what is best and enjoy the night and concert

  7. haha! I like your advice! Straight..honest and to the point!

  8. Wow! I’ve heard of the Smith House, but have never been. One of these days, I’m gonna trek out a bit further north than Hattiesburg and blow Nashville wide open! Sounds like this is going to be one of those great memories you sit on the front porch and tell your granddaughters one day! Have fun!

  9. Are you going to post a picture of the dress you get? The place looks amazing! I would have to drive 4 hours to get a city large enough to have anything like that… Totally jealous of you right now.

  10. Every time you go out with B…it should be the best time of your life! And his of course. I hope it is the best Anniversary for you both!

  11. Haha I can totally relate to the process of deciding on which restaurant to go to. When me or my girlfriend finally suggest a place, it almost always results in an argument due to it not being a good enough suggestion.

Leave a Reply

