7 years ago today, I said I do..forever.

13 years ago next month I received a phone call from a friend who invited me to go to her brother’s band practice. I was bored that night so I decided I would go.  We walked into this old barn where upstairs the band practice was taking place.  I walked in the room and said hello to everyone and standing there in torn up jeans, a worn out shirt, a toboggan and this sexy as hell red guitar hanging off of him was Billy.  My first thought “When did he get cute?”  See, I have known him since I was in the 5th grade, his sister and I were in the same class and were always friends.  I would spend the night with her and he was always the jerk big brother that would make fun of me or have to drive me home after a sleep over.  Never once did I give him a look, a thought or even think he was cute.  He was my friend’s older brother…period.  That night at band practice changed everything.  He was grown up now and he was H-O-T.  I’m sure that red guitar helped   😉   They continued their band practice and I sat and I watched him tear up that guitar and frankly I wanted to tear off his clothes.  But I sat quietly and watched.  A couple of days later I was at work when I got a phone call from my friend, his sister, telling me that she just talked to her brother and he had mentioned wanting to take me out one night and he wanted to know if it was ok to give me a call.  I kept my cool and said sure that sounds fun.  After hanging up the phone I jumped around like a little girl, so excited.

**At this point in my life I was 20 years old, a server at a chili joint and had sworn off guys and dating for a bit.  No I wasn’t turning into a lesbian, I was at crossroads in my life.  I had moved back in with my mom and was finishing the process of getting my butt back into gear.**

He called and asked me out on a date, I of course accepted.  We set it up for that Friday night.  Friday came, he picked me up and we headed to his sister’s for a bit before heading to The Chalet.  Now I went into this date with the thought of I am going home tonight, to my moms and he would go on his way.  Well that didn’t happen.  We were sitting in his truck in the parking lot talking when he kissed me.  That’s all she wrote folks…I didn’t go home that night.  Yes, I was a floozie and went home with him.  I couldn’t resist that kiss.  From that point on we were inseparable.

In 2003 he asked me to marry him and a year later on January 31, 2004 we were married.  It was a beautiful wedding.  We got married in an old historic mansion in our home town.  I woke up that morning in my mom’s house to frozen pipes, 8 inches of snow on the ground, and B calling to tell me how hung over he was from his bachelor party.  Great.  But nothing was going to stop us.  He shook it off and us girls went on about our day of getting ready for the big moment.  Everything was beautiful and ready.  It was a gorgeous wedding with family and friends surrounding us.

In our 13 years together our love has been tested, in our 7 years of marriage our marriage has been tested.  But we were strong and overcame every obstacle that was thrown at us.  We prevailed, our marriage prevailed..our love was to strong to break.  Now today I I love him more than I ever thought was humanly possible.  He is my best friend, he is my world, he is what completes my heart.  I still after 13 years get butterflies, he still makes me laugh every day, he tells me he loves me and that I am beautiful everyday.  He is the best man in the world.  He is a wonderful father, he is the best husband, he is my buddy.  I feel very lucky everyday to have him in my life.  He has taught me so much in the 13 years we have been together, I love his wisdom.  He is always there for me, always willing to listen, always there to hold my hand.

Friday he sent me the best email.  It was a collage of words from the past 13 years.  Just random quotes that we have said, things we did, memories etc. I read it with tears in my eyes while laughing so hard I almost couldn’t breathe.  It was the best, no card can top that.  Friday night he took me to dinner to celebrate our anniversary and we had a fabulous time…together.

So here is to the last 13 years, here is to today and here is to what is to come….

I love you B!!!!!

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on January 31, 2011, in life, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. What a great post for pre-Valentine’s Day! You seem like you’re as in love with him as you were on that day you saw him play the guitar! Congrats!

  2. Jamie,
    You guys are so Lucky! You both chose wisely. May your happiness continue forever and your love even longer.
    Barb

  3. Loving this post, the collage of words, the fact you used the word “floozie” 😉 Enjoy the day and tell B I said “hi” and he rocks!

  4. awwww so cute! Congrats to u both. Love is in the air!

  5. Very cool. It doesn’t get much better for a guy on an anniversary than to hear such a great recounting of how it all went down.

Leave a Reply

