My story made the news

As I mentioned before, last week at the park my sister and I witnessed a man masturbating in the car next to us as a public park.  I was stunned at this activity because it was being done in a public place where families go and where kids are present.  That is what I find disturbing. I made the police aware of the activity and also the local news.  They had done a story on this very thing at a different park a few years ago.  They contacted me and said they would like to do an interview sharing my story on the 10pm news last night.  I agreed only if my face wouldn’t be shown and only my first name used.  Not the most happy go lucky story to be associated with.  I met them at the park where my sister and I were and was interviewed.  As I was pulling into the park I passed a few cars leaving with just men in them, as I parked I glanced around and there were numerous cars parked throughout the parking lot again with just men sitting in them. I’m sorry but if you are a man alone in your car at a park now I am immediately thinking that you are there for other reasons than to take in the view.  When the reporter and field camera man arrived they were both shocked by the number of cars that were there. The interview was short and sweet but the toughest part was describing was we saw that day only because you have to watch what you say. The camera man didn’t know if we could say masturbating or not during the clip so we bounced around from ‘touching himself’, ‘masturbating’ and ‘pleasuring himself’.  They went with touching himself. I wasn’t as nervous as I thought I would be because the camera was not in my line of vision, if it was I would have been a sweaty mess.  Before they met with me they met with the police. The police told them this activity has been going on off and on since the 80’s at this park between same sex and opposite.  They have done stings in the past and the activity lessens but after awhile it picks back up again. If an officer would catch someone in the act it is only a misdemeanor. I was a little shocked by that, simply a slap on the wrist.  My concern lies with this activity taking place in a public area where kids could be. I’m not downing anyone for what they want to do but for pete’s sake get a room, go to a place that is not public and kids aren’t around, hell go to a gay bar downtown there are plenty.  But just stay away from places where we take our children, places where you should be able to go and feel safe. I hope with sharing the story people are aware of their surroundings and if they do see something that just isn’t right they let the authorities know.

Well 10pm came..the news started..my heart started racing.  I was so nervous!  A hell of a lot more nervous waiting for the story to run than I was standing there telling my story.  I really thought it would be one of the last stories of the night.  It was the 3rd story!!!  Oh my goodness!  “Sex at a local park creeps out a young mother of two”  haha!  That’s me!  It was nicely done. I sounded like a goofball though because I hate hearing my voice and with the way they cut and edited the piece.  But all in all it got the point across and I am happy.  The camera guy made me feel good about it after I told him I wish I was telling a happier story, he said you did good, you are doing a good community service, people need to be made aware of what is going on so it can be stopped.  That made me feel better.  I follow the news station on fb and they posted a link to the story last night, I am having some fun reading the comments that people are leaving. The “why didn’t they get a license plate” well because we weren’t thinking straight and a little in shock and disbelief, wish I would of though.  One comment was why did they sit there for 45 minutes watching that’s the creepy part…umm well dude if you could read it said that we were in shock for 45 minutes not that we sat there, why the hell would we sit there?  Dummy.  Best comment yet “geter done”.  haha!

After watching it I headed to bed and laid there thinking about what I should of said.  I hate that.  Too late.  I should have made this point, not said that, said this instead, why didn’t I touch on this point?, why in the world did those words come out of my mouth?  So frustrating but it’s said and done, the word is out there to make people aware of what is going on in our community so with that I am happy.

I’m such a dork.

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on February 24, 2011, in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I always think of great things to say long after it’s too late to actually say them. It’s my super power.

    For the life of me, I can’t imagine why anyone would want to drive to a park to, well. How do you say? “Listen to their Divinyls mix tape.” What is wrong with people?

    Actually, strike that. I already know the answer to that. We all seem to think that anything we want is automatically okay just because we want it. And we’re all dead wrong.

    Good job for the way you took action!

  2. You’re not a dork. I agree with the camerman: you’re making people aware. Nice job!

  3. Quite Impressive! Great Job! we need more ‘your’ kind of people in this world!

  4. Good for you! That’s awesome that you were able to make a stand and say something. I always beat myself up about things afterwards on what I should’ve or could’ve said. I think that’s a natural thing when it’s something that really matters or is important to you.

  5. Congratulations Jamie. That was a brave thing to do. The right thing often takes guts, but it’s still right.

    Thank you.

    – Bob

  6. Good for you. Those pervs need to do at home! Case closed!
    Do i fortell a future news reporter?

  7. Thanks everybody!!! It felt good.

Leave a Reply

