My baby has his first Crush & a Roundup of the Brad Paisley concert.

Monday, Monday, can’t trust that day
Monday, Monday, it just turns out that way
Oh Monday, Monday, won’t go away
Monday, Monday, it’s here to stay
Oh Monday, Monday
Oh Monday, Monday

Mondays…Bleh.  Positive for this Monday, it’s 71 degrees out already and it’s 7:30am.  Negative, severe tornadic storms are headed right for us and I’m home by myself.  Good times.  I am not a fan of tornados, a good thunderstorm..love it, tornados..not so much.  I have always been scared of the potential of tornados but since moving to TN where finding a house with a basement is slim to none it has gotten worse.  If a tornado warning goes into effect for my area I try to stay calm while having every TV on and I start pacing from the front of the house to the back.  I am sure that if you look close enough there is a path worn between the two.  I’m a wussy when it comes to this, I admit that.  The one warning that is out now isn’t for us but will be soon enough because we are right in it’s path..it never fails.  Finding out if you really do end up in Oz if a tornado hits isn’t on my list of things to do today.

We had a milestone this weekend with my son who is 8.  The other night B was laying down with him before bed and W looks at him and says “I have something to tell you and you can’t tell anyone, you can tell Mommy and that’s it”.  B agreed and asked what was up.  W was laying there with his covers pulled up to his chin and said quickly “I like a girl!” and pulled the covers up over his head.  B came out and told me the news and I will admit I choked up just a bit.  Awwwe…my little man has his first crush!  How sweet is that!  Saturday morning him and I went to sign him up for soccer and as we were waiting I brought it up to him for the first time.  He denied it at first to me all the while with a big cheesy grin on his face but soon started spilling the beans.  He said he did like this girl but decided he didn’t anymore for no apparent reason but she likes him.  He also told me another little girl in his class likes him too.  He’s such a stud, hahaha!  I had asked the question if she was ever his girlfriend and he said no.  We left and headed up the road and he asked me “So Mom what does it mean to be boyfriend & girlfriend?”  Oh my goodness…here we go.  I explained what it means to have a girlfriend in the 2nd grade which hopefully still doesn’t mean squat (times have changed so much it scares me).  When I had my first boyfriend in the 1st grade we never spoke a word for a year, we just called each other boyfriend/girlfriend.  God I hope that is still the case these days.  As cute as it is, it made me a bit sad.  My little man is growing up, girls are coming into the picture.  I caught myself thinking about this later in the day and found myself already putting my defenses up for him.  I thought about my little man getting his heart broken for the first time, which will make me want to hunt a girl down, I thought about the phone calls that will start (hopefully not soon of course), and of course the drama that comes along with all of this.  I am not ready for it, he isn’t ready for it or at least in my eyes he isn’t.  He’s my baby, always will be and already I find myself jealous of another girl stealing his attention away.  I know I know, it’s way to soon for all of that craziness but one day it will happen and that saddens me.  Girls are crazy, girls can be mean, girls can be evil…  And it begins.

Saturday night I went to the Brad Paisley concert with my Step mom.  She loves her some Brad, I on the hand have never been a big fan and his concert confirmed why.  Don’t get me wrong, he put on a great show and it was fun but I found myself a little bored with his songs.  My step mom made the evening when I would look over at her and she was at the edge of her seat with a great big grin singing along.  That was priceless and made the whole night worth it.

He was great because he interacted with the crowd so much.  He came out to the middle of the arena for a couple of songs to get close with the audience in the back, pretty neat.  He even walked around the arena and went up into the back crowd, that was cool.  If it wasn’t for the great bit screen in the back of the stage playing funny clips and cartoons to go along with the songs I might have fallen asleep.  You can tell he is a genuine person and he made it fun.  What was neat was to hear him talk about being able to go home to his own bed that night after the show.  He lives around Nashville and was 25 minutes from his home.  Biggest highlight, during the last song “Alcohol” they brought up people from the audience to have a beer on stage and his openers came out to close the show.  I soon noticed there was a woman on stage playing the guitar, I thought ‘well who is that? I haven’t seen a girl on stage all night.’  It was Sheryl Crow..awesome!

Myself and the happiest woman in the world!

Now to turn my attention to the weather…

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on February 28, 2011, in life, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Don’t worry you will be ok!
    Weather just likes to scare the shit out of people. But just in case, make sure you have your ruby slippers on at all times.

    • The turned out to be nothing but maybe some flooding. The weather people did a wonderful job of talking it up as something completely horrible. Jerks. Ruby slippers..check!

  2. Awww. How incredibly cute. My little man had his first crush a couple of years ago at 9 on the little girl next door. He still has the crush but she’s still two years older than he is.

    The weather seems to be crazy all over. We had winds here that were so bad that I gathered all the kids in the tub and started chanting “there’s no place like home”.

  3. oh what a little heartbreaker 🙂

Leave a Reply

