My Weekend Reminded Me that This is What it is All About

This morning I am on my patio with my coffee typing my post with the birds singing me Good Morning.  I have missed my morning outside so much and I am so glad they are back.  How much better can it get?  Rock on!

This weekend I was reminded that this is what it is all about.  It was a great weekend, all of it, the whole thing was wonderful.

Friday evening I took the kids to a birthday party and got to catch up with some friends.  It was nice.  The weather was warm, the kids all had huge smiles on their faces as they ran from jumper to jumper playing so hard they were all a sweaty mess.  The moms sat in the middle chit chatting and being interrupted every now and again by “MOM, look at me!”

Saturday too was a beautiful day with warm weather and the sun shining.  B and I piddled around the house waiting for my Dad and Stepmom to arrive for an afternoon cookout.  Everyone in the neighborhood was cutting their grass, including B, and the smell of spring was in the air.  It has arrived.  The kids and I headed out to the driveway to shoot some basketball.  My son is getting to be a good shot and that makes this momma so happy!  Dad and Susie finally showed up during our game of Horse and my dad immediately picked up a basketball.  This is what I have been waiting for…playing basketball with my dad. My dad was a huge basketball player in school and in College.  He had full ride scholarships to both Vanderbilt and Butler but denied both of them because of a girl and the fact that he didn’t know where Vanderbilt was at the time.  He says it’s the biggest mistake he ever made, well ya think!   😉    He opted to go to Indiana State and play.  Anyway, growing up we always played basketball, almost everyday.  Our house was the house to hang out at and the boys were always over wanting to play basketball with dad.  So every weekend it would be my dad and I against whoever thought they were man enough to bring it.  We won the majority of the time.  Memories that I will cherish forever.  I love to shoot hoops with my dad and it is something that I haven’t been able to do for over 10 years now.  When he got here Saturday and picked up a ball I couldn’t help but to get the biggest smile on my face and was quickly taken back to my childhood.  We all played another game of Horse and guess who won?  Yep, that’s right…ME!  I beat the old man!  He still has it though hitting shots from everywhere.  I was one happy happy girl.  We spent the rest of the afternoon sitting on the patio drinking a few beers and chit chatting.  We grilled out and finished the evening up watching the Butler game.  It was fantastic!

Sunday was a lazy day with us just laying around and watching basketball all day.  B and I even managed to squeeze in a nap. While I was laying in the chair resting my eyes I heard a conversation between B and W. It went like this…

W: Dad, I’m bored,  Whatch’a want to do?

B: Nothing buddy what do you want to do?

W: Something with 2 people.

B: Well buddy, that is why we gave you a sister to play with.

W: *Umph* Fine.

BAM! I smiled and giggled in my head because that was awesome AND it worked!  For an hour and a half after that the kids played so nice together back in W’s room and that is when we snuck in our nap.  The rest of the night was awesome in every sense of the word.  B made dinner and it was delicious, the kids played for a while and then it was finally bed time for them.  After they were all tucked in, including my 3rd adopted child, B and I headed out back to the patio where it was still warm and perfect out. We sat out there for over an hour and half talking and listening to music and watched the moos rise in the sky.  It was wonderful.  I have missed our outside evenings.

So again I was reminded this weekend that this is what it is all about.  Spending time together, relaxing and just being.  It was an all around perfect start to spring.  The only thing that was missing this weekend was my sister.  I was reminded, again, that I am a lucky girl.  I am so very happy, I have a great husband, my family is close now, I have a great group of friends, my kids are amazing and life is good.

Now if I can just make it through this week (spring break) with my sanity, all will be fantabulous.  Today is beautiful once again with a high of 80 with the sun out it all of it’s glory.  I think it is a perfect day for pina coladas in the backyard while sitting in the sun and watching the kids play.

Let’s do this.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on March 21, 2011, in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I was waiting for “then I woke up”.

    Don’t you wish everyday would be like that? Or at least weekends. Choas during the week to make us really appreciate the weekends!

  2. Glad that you had a great weekend! That’s so cool about your dad.

  3. K 2 things.
    Numero Uno, hanging with the ones we love is TOTALLY what it’s all about. That’s what REAL life is man. And we all get so busy that it’s easy to forget that THAT is the point! Props to you for realizing that you were getting a glimpse of that… and writing it down!
    Numero Dos, Holy shizz girl! You can WRITE! I love this! You did a fabulous job of totally putting your reader in the moment. Well done! I was almost right there with ya…

    and a third thing I didn’t mention in the “2 things”… I ❤ basketball too. While I stink at actually playing… I LOVE the strategy and taking stats. I LOVE it. And I will be a coach in my next life… 😉 One more reason to luv ya girl! Blog on sista! oxoxo

  4. It absolutely is what it is all about! I love weekends like that!
    AND Thank you!

  5. That sounds like an awesome weekend! Especially the sitting on the balcony part! There’s still snow in my neck of the woods so no sitting outside just yet. That said, I spent the weekend up north at my folks’ place; it was a beautiful, sunny weekend and I spent some quality time with my mum 🙂

Leave a Reply

