Old School Rock’n iPod..It’s Wearing Spadex & Doing the Cabbage Patch

Spring break is over and back to school the kids went.  I was sad to see them walk out the door this morning.  We have had a very good week and I am happy to report that I didn’t become an alcoholic over the break.  That’s always a good thing.  It was a low key break, just hanging out with the family.  Now it’s back to the grind and to get everything back in order.  Good Times.

Today it is official, come 6pm this evening when we pull into the park I will be….a soccer mom.  W has his first practice tonight.  He’s super excited about it and that makes me happy.  He picked the one sport to play that I know nothing about, that is the only downfall to this adventure so I will have to learn. He will rock the soccer field and I can’t wait to watch him play!  It’s just funny to me to think that I am a soccer mom with my tattoos and lack of a mini van.  Times are a-changin’.

One of the funniest things I heard all weekend was from B last night as we were lying in bed.  He said “I think I am still worn out from the work I did two weeks ago”.  That must have been some hellacious work!   🙂

I filled my iPod over the weekend with some new music.  Well not necessarily ‘new’ music but it is new music to my iPod.  The majority of it is from the 80’s and 90’s.  Oh yeah baby rock’n some old school!  When I was on itunes figuring out what I wanted to get and doing a little reminiscing, my kids were sitting around me on the couch.  I would play a song and start singing along with it only to get looks from both of my kids. I was singing “I’m So Excited” by the Pointer Sisters and you would have thought that I grew horns and an extra eye from the look on my son’s face.  At one point he asked when I was going to be done listening to my “OLD & CRAPPY” music.  What!  Kid, you shut your mouth!  I can’t get enough of my new/old stuff and I have been jamming when I can and honestly I can’t wait to blare it through the house today and get my cleaning done.

Here are a few songs that I am now again rocking out to.

Oh yeah, bringing back 1988!  You know you are dancing in your seat right now, I am!  Whole J.J. Fad album..I love it.

Bringing back 1992!  Seriously, I still have no clue what he says but I love this song!

1989 baby!  “She’s dressed in Yellow, she says hello, come sit next to me you fine fellow”  Word.

Last one!

Have a great Monday and shake what yo momma gave ya!

 

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on March 28, 2011, in life, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Grats on avoiding alcoholism. I don’t know how you did it. 🙂 Spring break? Heck, these days, with the school year down to something like 28 days or something, I thought the whole semester was something like one never-ending break.

    I hope you get the rig to back up your soccer mom status. You won’t have cred without the ride.

    Gotta love the old music collections. They never get old. 🙂

  2. I hear ya! Now they get a fall break along with a spring break! We didn’t get that!

    Negative on the mini-van. 😉 I have a Pilot and that I will rock like a mini van! haha!

  3. Make the crack dip when it is your turn for snacks at practice! :)Also, you can totally rock a fully stocked cooler in the back of the Pilot…with alcoholic beverages, Capri Sun is a decent mixer.

  4. Super awesome music!! Especially Informer… who knows what the hell that guy is saying… but its all good!
    I try to show my kids music too… what do they know they have only been alive less than a decade!

  5. OMG girl! I have it all….did you steal my iPod? The S is for super and the U is for unique…..

    I’m a baseball mom. Not exactly a soccer mom but after spending $800 so far this season and spending 5 nights a week (two of those days being 5 hours at a time) at the fields between both the boys, I deserve a title dammit! You don’t need a mini van to rock the sports scene. I have two SUVs (gasp).

    Congrats on the new title. You rock!

  6. Supersonic= All Skate= whenever I hear this song my feet do this weird thing where they move like I have rollerskates on.
    “The S is for super and the U is for unique……”

  7. Oh god, don’t cave and get a mini van!

    Mine don’t like my music either, though my 23yo likes some of it. My 19yo rolls his eyes. Can’t please everyone.

Leave a Reply

