My Kid’s Report Cards Makes Me 1 Happy Mom!

Yesterday reports came home with both of the kids.  It’s the end of the 3rd grading period and I couldn’t be happier.  Both of them are doing great.  E(5) is right where she should be on everything and according to the teacher is doing “awesome”.  That’s my girl, pure awesomeness!  W(8) is right where he should be on everything except reading, that is where he is excelling beyond his grade level.  I don’t know exactly what level or grade he is reading at but this is what his report card said.

It breaks down by grading period how many correct words per minute they should be reading and then states how many they read when tested right before report cards came out.  Every grading period W has been above where he should be (I should have written the other grading periods down), on this one he should be reading anywhere from 62-82 correct words per minute.  He is reading 158 correct words per minute!

I don’t know what grade level that is exactly but I can tell you this, they have a reading program at school where the kids pick library books, read them and then are tested on them.  The books have numbers on them stating what grade level they are and the majority that he is reading are at a 4th grade level.  I’m not sure how many books he has read in the program because he brings home 2 at a time but he has aced every single test on his books expect for one and that one he received an 80%.  Who is proud of their kid and has two thumbs?  This mom right here!

Seriously, I am so proud of him.  He took up reading very quickly, almost over night and blew my mind.  He loves to read, he loves his books.  Right after the first grading period this year W also started getting pulled out of class for advanced Math.  He loves Math and numbers and again blows my mind.  He can figure number in his head that makes me stop and want to get out my toes to help figure out the problem.  He gets that from his dad…not me.  He took it upon himself to learn some multiplication and division.  Not anything crazy, just small problems but still he gets it and can do it at 8.  He also loves to teach E math, I have caught them at the white board or back in E’s room with her play school kit with him as the teacher teaching her addition and subtraction.  I love it!  I know I am biased because he is my kid but he blows my mind and is so so smart.  Too smart for his own good sometimes.  E is going great at reading too, it was like she picked it up overnight as well.  She is reading me some of W’s old books, I hope she sticks with it and continues to enjoy reading!

My kids make me One Proud Mommy!

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on March 30, 2011, in kids, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Isn’t that the best feeling!?? It’s just one less thing to stress out about….you’re kids grades. Kudos to them! And for you for raising smart children!!! LOL!!

  2. That’s a good feeling, Fnkybee. Congratulations. Our 11-year-old has always been a voracious reader. She’s good at figuring out the meaning of unfamilar words based on the context, but she had no idea how to pronounce them, so she’ll be reading aloud, and we’ll be, like, “Um, could you spell that?” She isn’t self-conscious about it, so that’s good.

    • Thank you! That’s awesome! I always hated reading in front of the class or anybody for that matter in school in fear of coming to a word I couldn’t pronounce so that is awesome she is not self-conscious about it!

  3. Woo-hoo for you and your kids! Does that mean they’ll be getting an extra topping on their ice cream tonight?

  4. Love, love, love it! Still trying to get my 16 year old to read more. Good job, mama!

  5. That’s awesome! Sounds like you have a smart set of kids there. Call me selfish but I always take my kids accomplishments as a mark on my parenting chart. It’s all about me dammit (don’t judge me) LMAO!

    Seriously though, I think it’s great that the kids are doing so well in school and it does speak volumes about the parenting they have. Keep up the good work mama!

  6. Thats so awesome. I never experience this type proudness till I had kids. Its wonderful.
    Your kids are some intelligent cookies.

    Hey kids, now is the time to start asking for stuff from Mama!!

Leave a Reply

