When Mother Nature Vomits on You.

So call me a Drama Queen if you wish, I am fine with that today.  I have a crown and everything to rock the look and part.

I’m pretty sure everyone is aware of the weather that has been going on the last 2 days unless you live under a rock.  If you do live under a rock, stay there..it’s just freaking crazy out there.

Let me start off with I do NOT like tornadoes, I panic, I pace.  I am from Indiana and grew up with tornado warnings, so this is not new to me.  Here is the difference of dealing with them up there and here in Tennessee.  There you have basements, here you do not.  There –  a tornado warning comes and I would panic and pace but it was different because you knew you had a basement to hunker down in, in other words you knew you would be safe.  Here – a warning comes and I turn every tv on, panic, and pace from room to room..window to window knowing that the only place I have to go is a freaking closet.  That my friends is not reassuring…That just sucks my toe and I don’t like having that done to my toes because it’s gross.

We heard for the past week that the weather was going to get bad here last night and today, you never know if this is true or not till it is time.  Last time we were supposed to get severe weather nothing really happened so you don’t know whether to let it get to you or not. Last night I had the Weather Channel on and the senior meteorologist mapped out the area of the severe weather risk level.  It usually consists of 2 colors…Orange for thunderstorms and Red for the greatest chance of severe weather.

Well his map looked like this…

You see that?  There’s freaking WHITE on there!  You know what he says as he is talking about it?  No?  Let me fill you in.  He says “I have NEVER used white on the map before now”.  You read that right, they broke out with a whole other color for this shit.  Can we say holy freaking crap?  There’s not even white in the legend telling you what it means!  I’ll tell you what it means..it will read like this.  White=You’re fucked..You’re just screwed.  Also they have this little system that gives your chance of tornadoes on a scale of 1-10.  Here in middle Tennessee we are at an 8!  That means we have an 80% chance of tornadoes people.

After seeing that panic started setting in.  When the first round made it just past Memphis last night the news started breaking in during commercials updating us with the storm.  There were sheer markers everywhere on the radar.  Like 20+ just overlapping each other.  There was every single color in the rainbow on there.  I have never seen storms like this before.  They zoom in on two storms headed towards Nashville, both cells have 100mph winds.  Let’s just say my panic went into overdrive.

I have never in my almost 34 years felt panic and fear like I did last night.  I was trembling…I don’t get like that.  My hands were shaking so bad that I couldn’t control them.  Yes I just confessed that I was a flipp’n hot mess last night.  Then I got a phone call from my dad.  My dad doesn’t panic, he keeps his cool.  I could hear something different in his voice, it was worry.  He was talking so softly and come to find out it was because he was trying to with hold info from me.  His buddy who is in with the weather people had told him that we were at a 9 out of 10 on the scale of tornadoes.  He was told that 90% of the people in Tennessee will be within 50 miles of a tornado today.  Freaking peachy.  I felt and still feel like a sitting duck.

I am happy to report that the storms that came through last night stayed just west of where I am but close enough that I could see the lightening and hear the thunder.  I slept on the couch with the tv on to stay updated.  Then at 5:00 this morning I looked at the tv and here it comes.  By 5:30am we were under a warning.  Rise and freaking shine!  A tornado came down about 10 miles from my house.  Nothing like starting your day off like that!  To top that off I had to make the decision of to send the kids to school or do I keep them home.  I decided to send them because they are almost safer in the school building than here.  Well it was time for the bus to come and it didn’t show so I took it as a sign to keep them home.  45 minutes later it showed and I sent them.  Now I don’t know if that is was the right decision to be made.  The next round is set to hit around lunch time and I might go pick them up before it gets here.  Hell I don’t know what to do!

To top all that off my sister flew out this morning for Key West in the midst of the 5:00am storm.  Her flight left at 5:30.  She texted me when she landed in Atlanta for her connection and said it was a very bad flight.  The turbulence was so bad that she hit her head on the window. On top of everything else I was worrying about her so when that text came in and I knew she was safe I had a sigh of relief.  She is now on her connecting flight and headed to bright and sunny Key West.

Now with the kids at school, the sun shining (which according to the news is not a good thing right now it just adds to recipe), B at work I am going to relax for a moment and wait for the next round of storms to get here.  Hopefully the forecasted rain estimates will be off a bit because if they are right we might flood…again.  This sucks for a couple of reasons.  The first being obvious..flood=bad, second I won’t see B for days.  He works for a pump and power company and it thrives on natural disasters.  Last year when the flood happened I didn’t see him for weeks.  His phone started blowing up last night before he went to bed.  Today is going to be a very a long day for him and most likely the rest of the week.

The radar looked and still looks like Mother Nature has been on a drinking binge for awhile now and vomited all of her demon of a hangover on us.  Great.  I hope she learned a lesson and gets help from a 12 step because she has a problem.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on April 27, 2011, in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. So sorry! I hope everything will be fine & pass you by once again.

  2. Your state should post this on it website to attract new residents. 🙂 not much to say other than good luck and I hope everyhing turns out good.

  3. Kristin Brænne

    ★★★★★

  4. You know that we are thinking of you. Do you know what else I learned from your post? You don’t have a foot fetish. THANK GOD cause that’s just creepy 🙂

    Keep us posted girl!

  5. So I “liked” the post because it was well written, not so much for the content and horrible weather aspect of the scenario :/ And Hot Sex Guy would never get it on with you since you hate having your toes sucked. 🙂

  6. Liked your post because there isn’t a “read it” button 😀

  7. You don’t like your toes sucked…. now that’s just wird ;P

  8. Honey, I think you need to move. Come to Canada 🙂

  1. Pingback: Storms Rampage Through The South « Ginger's Snap

Leave a Reply

