Our Little Dinner Club

I am part of a dinner club that one of my friends started just over a year ago.  Our group consists of about 10 girls and we alternate hosting month to month.  When it is your turn you host at your home choosing recipes that are new, not your norm or out of your comfort zone.  April was my month and I hosted this past Saturday night.  I picked a Caribbean theme to kick off Spring and get us ready for the warm months ahead.

The menu for the night was for appetizers: Coconut Shrimp with Pineapple Salsa and Mango Pomegranate Guacamole, for our main course we had Jerk Chicken Salad and to finish off my friend Lisa made a blueberry and lemon trifle.  I also made my popular Jamaican Rum Punch for our cocktail of the evening.  I had made the jerk chicken salad before but only once and the other recipes I had never tried before.  I was a little out of my comfort zone with the coconut shrimp recipe and even though it was an easy recipe it was new to me which made me nervous.  I am one that if I am uncomfortable with a recipe then I follow it to a T, I am not good at substitutions and winging it if I need to.

That morning I headed to Publix for my shopping, they always have everything I need.  Well they failed me on 2 things which put me in somewhat of a panic mode.  They stopped carrying Pineapple preserves which is the main ingredient in the dressing for the salad and I also needed it for the salsa.  PANIC!  Also pomegranates are out of season and they haven’t been able to get them in for about 3 months.  Umm..Hello! I’m making POMEGRANATE mango guacamole!  What am I going to do!?!?!?  Complete panic set in.  I called my friend who is the cooking queen and asked what should about substituting for the preserves and pomegranate.  She put my mind to ease with getting pineapple-apricot preserves and just leaving the pomegranate out completely and she reassured me that everything would be fine.  Awesome!

My biggest fear was time management, there was much more food prep to be done than actual cooking time.  The shrimp prep would be the biggest time consumption.  The ladies were due to start arriving around 7pm so I started the food prep at 4 starting with the shrimp.  Thank goodness I did this because it took forever and that is with B helping me.  After that was done I finished up getting ready and setting up the table and then it was real cooking time.  I started with the coconut shrimp.  5 minutes after it being in the oven and it was smelling so good!  I got the first round out of the oven and the ladies started to arrive around 6:30 or so.  It was on to the guacamole which was so easy.  I got the appetizers out and relaxed for a moment with a nice glass of rum punch.  The reviews of the appetizers were great!  Everyone loved it!

Jamican Rum Punch

Coconut Shrimp & Pineapple Salsa

Mango Guacamole

Please excuse the pictures by the time I remembered to take pictures everyone had dug in and started eating and I had 2 glasses of rum punch in me!   😉   Thank goodness the salad was up next and it is easy and quick!

It was time for the main course.  Lisa and I headed in to start the salad.  It is so easy, the only cooking involved is the chicken.  We put together the salad and it was ready to serve.

Jerk Chicken Salad

Everyone loved it and it was time for dessert.  I unfortunately don’t have a picture of the trifle but the word at the table is that it was delicious!  We ended the night with a little game of questions from a box that was made for a girls night.  The questions were hilarious and had us laughing hysterically.  The more punch that was consumed the answers became more honest and just down right funny.

Everyone had a great time, the punch did what it was supposed to do and had everyone extremely happy!  The word on Facebook the next morning is that the majority of us had pounding headaches and I was even asked if I was sure I had put juice in the punch and just didn’t leave it straight up alcohol.  Haha!  Everyone headed out around midnight or so with smiles and full bellies.  Mission Dinner Club was a success!  My friend Lisa stayed and she and I hung out on the patio till about 2am with rum punch in hand in my hand and water in hers to sober her up to drive home!   😛

All the Ladies!

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on May 3, 2011, in dinner club, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. firecracker3

    I love this. Sounds like so much fun. I need to figure out how to make this stuff happen in my life! 🙂 Kudos on the cooking and new recipes and last minute changes. I know those can be stressful.

  2. You know, with enough rum punch, you could have gotten away with serving Vienna sausages and Chicklets.

  3. Sounds like a ton of fun and it all looks so yummy! I wish you lived closer mama 🙂

  4. I wish I lived with you!

    This is awesome… you made me hungry!

  5. What a great idea to have a party like that! And it was a success! Kudos!

  6. Oh my goodness! Everything looks so….pretty? Great job. It looks like a lot of fun and what a good idea. I’m the same way with cooking and time management. It’s hard for me to time everything out sometimes.

  7. Oh what fun (jumping and clapping hands like a little girl)
    Wish I had friends I could do this with.

  8. All of that looks delicious! Can I come over? It’ll take me a few days to get there so you’ll have time to get cooking ;-p

Leave a Reply

