School’s Out for Summer!

“School’s out for Summer!”  Well not yet, it will be at 2:30.  It is indeed the last day of school, yee-mother lov’n-haw!  I woke up to the beeping of my alarm for the last time this am.  It started beeping at 5:40 and I grabbed the butcher knife from under my pillow and I stabbed it.  I stabbed it like my life depended on it.  You shut your mouth Mr. Alarm clock.

To you Mr. Alarm Clock!

Then I laughed..bwhahahaha.  I don’t need your beeping/lip anymore!  You are officially not needed around these parts for a few months.  I hopped out of bed with a spring in my step and the feeling of victory!

The kids popped right out of bed this morning too, go figure.  They are stoked for summer break, I can’t blame them.  Do you remember the feeling of the last day of school?  It was such a cool feeling, the feeling of freedom.  The feeling of not having structure from day to day for 2.5 months.

I can remember my final day of school like it was yesterday, it was May 26th, 1995.  The last day is always full of signing year books, chit chatting in every period, making plans for the summer.  The final bell rang at 2:45 and we all headed out of the school.  A few friends met me at my car, I was rocking a 1987 Cutlass Supreme at the time.  I took the T-tops out and we loaded in.  I just happened to have the soundtrack to Dazed and Confused in my car and popped in the cassette (that makes me sound so old!) and we jammed ‘School’s Out’ by Alice Cooper.  Yep we were dorks like that but it was fitting and it was true!   Dazed and Confused closed my life’s high school chapter that day.  One more reason I have so much love for that movie and soundtrack.

Last Day of School..Headed to Graduation!

I hope everyone Rocks their Summer!

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on May 25, 2011, in life, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Last day of school already? That’s early. But awesome! Boo and Radley still have 2 or 3 weeks left.

  2. I love the throwback picture! I wish I could remember my last day of school but I can’t! I sat here thinking, pondering and nothing…how is that possible? I was the school President I am pretty sure I had to give a speech, wtf!?!?! Damnit brain, you have failed me!

  3. I was going to say you look like you just popped out of the movie Dazed and Confused …. but I do know you were to young for that!

    Cutless huh? Sweet!

    Last days of school make me sad… I have no idea why.

  4. So that’s what a teenager Fnkybee looks like!
    Enjoy your summer

  5. Love yer hair dahlin’!

    Class of ’95? You feel old? Are you kidding me?

    I SO miss my senior year! What a great time I had. Then life interrupted. How rude!

    I hope you have a great summer with your kids!! By August I’ll be looking for signs of intervention.

  6. Love it and you look so sweet and cute.

    Oh and cutless-meow!!!!!

    I was homeschooled.I know, you can feel sorry for me now and all the wierdness that is me will now forever make sense.

    I also home school my oldest child. So far so good and she has managed to not be socially awkward which is a HUGE plus. Homeschool kids/people generally freak me out.

    • haha! It all comes together with that info. Just kidding!
      that’s great about your daughter! My nephew is home schooled and he is lacking big time in the social department.

  7. HA HA {pointing at you} no more peaceful pool trips. Now it’s, MOM HE’S SPLASHING ME!

    P.S.
    HA HA

    • I am so sticking my tongue out at you right now! 😛 see!
      Yep no more peaceful pool trips, I tried to get in as many as I could. Now those days has passed and I’m so sad.

  8. I still have school with the kids and am soooooo over it. I’m tire, turning grey and am on the brink of destruction…the brink I TELL YOU! I envy you and your lack of alarmness. I envy your summer vacation status AND I would be more than happy to cause MR T up there some bodily harm for pointing and laughing at you (Mr I go to work and don’t have to deal with it).

    Screw it all! Wanna run away together Fnky?

    • I don’t know how you do it. I couldn’t home school my kids if you paid me. I just don’t have that in me. But i do understand why you do it and your kids are older now so it has to be easier than have 3 young’ns at home all days.
      Yes, Yes I do want to runaway…let’s do this! AND GO!

Leave a Reply

