My Daughter’s Music vs. Mine when I was her age.

Sunday morning, the sun is shining, I’m drinking my coffee and listening to E (5) rock out in her room to a new CD we made last night for her.  I love listening to her sing and watching her dance in her room, it brings back so many memories from my childhood.  I was always in my room with music playing.

Let’s compare the differences in music now vs. then…

First Up A little Rap

E: Dr. Dre Featuring Eminem and Skyler Grey, I need a Doctor

Me: Beastie Boys, No Sleep Till Brooklyn

Now Teenie Bopper Music

E: Miranda Crosgrove, About You Now

Me: Debbie Gibson, Electric Youth

E: Lady Gaga, Born this Way

Me: Madonna, Papa Don’t Preach

E: K$sha, Blow

Me: B-52’s, Love Shack

So yeah, I think it is safe to say times have changed just a bit!  Back then it was so innocent for the most part, people were somewhat clothed, it was fun.  Now everyone is half naked, you can’t watch a video without wanting to bang who ever is sitting next to you because every video is about sex.  I just aged myself right there and for some reason I am ok with that.  But hey, I still dig the music today for the most part.  E even asked me to make her Jack Johnson CD last night too, I know there is hope!

 

 

 

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on June 12, 2011, in kids, Me, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Not even 20mins ago I thought to myself, “I need a little Beastie Boys music right now” 🙂

    • Beastie Boys always brighten up a day! I told W the other day that they have been around since I was in Elementary School and he about fell off the couch. That made me feel old! haha!

  2. That Dr. Dre video cracks me up every single time. It’s like they’re trying to be all deep and serious and shit. Ha!

    Round 1: Beastie Boys win.

    Debbie Gibson would have won except for that dance routine.

    Round 2: Tie.

    Lady Gaga actually has some talent. But she’s a super-freak. She’s not quite as good as she thinks. Madonna, I think she was the first to use acting out as a method of compensating for skill.

    Round 3: Abstain due to lack of interest

    I always wanted the women in the B-52’s and the dude’s voice is the bomb.

    Round 4: B-52’s – extreme domination.

    Old skool wins!

  3. Ok, add my generation into that mix….Led Zepplin, Rolling Stones, The Who, BAY CITY ROLLERS!, The DEFRANCO FAMILY!, The Partridge Family.

    I love Ke$ha! Animal is my favorite by her. My son introduced me to some of Eminems music. I have some of them on my iPod. Evanescence, .50……I don’ t mind it.

    But what a contrast from what I used to listen to back in the 60’s and 70’s! To use an explicit word was completely unheard of! When Charlie Daniels used “son of a bitch” in Devil Went Down to Georgia” the radio stations didn’t know what to do with it. So two versions were made and the “nice” version was played. Now? They play the version with the SOB in it! And it’s not even bleeped. We’ve come a long way.

    • I heard K$sha sing on something a little while ago and she earned my respect. She actually sang..no voice effects and she sounded really good, I was thoroughly impressed.

  4. I know exactly what you mean. My 5yo is totally unto her music right now.
    It’s weird because I have been trying to get them to appreciate all kinda of music because I feel that I appreciate all kinds. However, they are teaching me. Which is leeping me young .. I guess.
    I do have to say I like their music. And hopefully, when they are ready they will like mine.

  5. Lol we have very similar taste in music…I love still to this day B-52’s Love Shack. My daughter listens to exaclty what yours is listning to…it is very funny how the music changes but I actually love it too

  6. Its kind of crazy when you look at it that way isn’t it?

  7. Let’s not forget that back then, lyrics usually made sense – unlike now! Let’s use Britney Spears as an example. Need I say more?

Leave a Reply

