Last Night I Stopped and Let Myself Just Be

Last night I stopped and I listened.

I went outside to have a cigarette last night and usually when I go out I have my phone in my hand or my ipad, something to toy with while I am out there.  This has become a habit.  Last night I I went out with neither for the first time in awhile.

It was about 11:00, it was silent except for the summer night bugs singing their songs, there was a breeze blowing.

I sat and I listened.

I listened to the silence which is night.

I listened to the sounds of the bugs that are only out during the summer night warmth.

I listened to the breeze rustling the leaves in the trees.

I watched the breeze blow through the line of trees, jumping from one tree to the next.

I sat and felt the night breeze on my face and I breathed it in.

The breeze was fresh,warm and cleansing.

I cleared my mind of the chaos which life can be.

I let myself just be.

Life, we let it consume us with the daily chaos it can have.

We are always running here or there, worrying about this or that.

All which is most likely insignificant when it comes down to it.

How often do you let yourself just be?

How often do you stop and take in what is around you?

How often do you sit and listen to the night?

The night is a mysterious beautiful time.

All is quiet, the daily hustle is over, the day is at rest.

It’s the perfect time to…

..just be.

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on July 16, 2011, in life, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. This was real nice. I need to do this … and more often

  2. Wonderful! You did something truly extraordinary. Thanks for the important reminder!

  3. This is exactly what I’ve been trying to do for the last year. It’s wonderful. I believe that I appreciate things more than I use to. Good for you girl! Beautiful post 🙂

  4. I actually sat outside yesterday morning and didn’t sit on the computer! And just sat in the rope chair and enjoyed the cool breeze, silence (with an occasional car going by) and vegged!

    Isn’t it wonderful to do that??? I’m going to do that more often! So glad you were able to relax and let go!!

  5. Glad to know the Fnkybee is just bee-ing. I caught a lightning bug earlier, it was sweet blissfullness. Is blissfulness a word? I don’t know and don’t care.

  6. Gosh isn’t that the truth?! I love this post! I need to gain some awareness of this– your post helped!

  7. Thanks everyone. I’m making it a point to do that a lot more often!

Leave a Reply

