New School Sleep Schedule = Grumpy Britches

We are now at Wednesday here in the first week of school and the new sleep schedule, “up and at’em” early morning routine is taking its toll…on everyone.  E (6) has been a big ole Crabby McCrabberson the last two days.  W (8) is doing good, I think that kid could go on 0 sleep if he had to.  E on the other hand is a different story.

W and I were sitting on the couch watching Animal Planet last night when Miss Grumpy Britches graced us with her attitude.  This is between her and her brother.

E: Can I change the channel?

W: No I am watching this.

E: No Your NOT! (put as much sass in that as you possibly can)

W: yes I am! I’m watching this show.  (he is clearly watching this show)

E: Umph..No Your Not!

*She gets up and starts walking out of the room* Meanwhile saying…

E: Well I’m going to go watch tv in your room and I’m going to watch what ever I want!  How do you like that?  What are you going to do about it?!?

All the while I am just sitting there trying not to laugh and I’m in awe of this attitude coming from my little girl.  I do not usually allow all this attitude but I couldn’t help finding it comical because I knew all the sassiness was coming from her being so tired.  She dished it out good.  Now that I know she can bring the ‘tude’ I fear her.  Looking into the future and hearing this attitude when she is 10, 12,15 years old scares the crap out of me!

I can tell W is becoming exhausted too but he has a secret stash of crack or something because he is always full throttle.  Me, I am exhausted and becoming a little short and crabby.  I do my best not to let my fuse get down to explosion but it has came close a few times.  I managed not to set my alarm clock all summer long so needless to say Monday morning I wanted to take a sledgehammer to it.  Last night I was ready to go to bed at 8:00 but managed to stay up till almost 10 with toothpicks holding my eyes open.  I did not miss my alarm clock and all the glory that comes along with getting up early..not one bit!  Give me another week and I will be back on track.  For now…Coffee Don’t Fail Me!

Looking back I don’t know how I functioned without coffee for so long.  I didn’t start drinking my liquid crack until I was around 28/29 years old.  I took care of 2 kids in the infant stage with NO coffee!  I seriously should get a metal or a trophy, hell just a little gold star sticker.  Something!  I don’t know how I functioned, took care of a baby or later a 1.5 year old and a baby, made decisions and was coherent.  I must be super human.  Yeah that’s it!

Boom  Shakalaka!

 

 

 

 

About Jamie

Taking my time through this A-Mazing thing called my life. I'm the owner and photographer at The Adore Girls here in Nashville TN. Life is what you make of it and I am making mine...AMAZING!

Posted on August 10, 2011, in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Too funny. Our little ones still have a couple of weeks left of summer vacation and then our household will experience much the same transformation.

  2. We started doing school here as well, needless to say my daughter is not too excited about it but she will settle into it in the next week or so. She has been such a great a help lately and 2 mornings this week I awoke to fresh brewed coffee made by my girl. she managed to get up before me and guess what? The coffee was goooood. If that doesn’t say ‘I love you”, then nothing does. Good luck with your grumpoluphugus, I have one too. He is three and very moody. 🙂

  3. Ha! That is a great little exchange. I give you credit you can manage 2 of them. I have trouble managing myself often 🙂

  4. Are you kidding?!!? Of course you are a super human woman! You are a mom!!
    In most countries, mothers are viewed as GODS… which brings me to my next point… I am moving.

  5. ★☆ not sure which star you’d prefer so I’m giving you both of them.

  6. School doesn’t start back up for us until the 29th but it already sucks.

Leave a Reply

